We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pedro's Pleasure”

Pedro's House of Lamb
Ranked #1 of 978 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A tender whole lamb shoulder cooked slowly over 4-5 hours, with garlic and rosemary to bring out the delicious flavour. Served with scalloped potatoes. TAKEAWAY
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pedro's Pleasure”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A signature dish from the famous Pedro's Restaurant. What a way to reinvent oneself. Quite honestly the best lamb and scalloped potatoes you will ever taste. Also bought some Spanish red from LK across the carpark which made the Pedro's experience even more enjoyable. Seriously fellow trip advisors, Pedro's House of Lamb is a genuine ten out of ten!

Helpful?
1 Thank tityco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    140
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best posh takeaway ever!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What is there not to like? Very tender slow cooked lamb with yummy potatoes! Such a nice treat for the quiet night in. I called in advance and picked it up and it couldn't be easier. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Lamb, Great value.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We drove up to Pedro's on a Sunday afternoon with almost no one around and was served straightaway.

We ordered the whole shoulder set which cost $35. For two people, this is quite good seeing as this could probably feed a family of 4. The lamb itself was succulent and falls off the bone with very minimal herbs and spices, allowing the quality of the meat to be enjoyed. Potatoes had that oven baked texture and infuses with the Lamb juices to make it very flavourful.This might not be for patrons with an aversion to the smell of cooked lamb. Some might even see the place being described as Spanish and expect a fiesta-like meal with vibrant colours and complex tastes. This is not it.

House of lamb does what it says on the tin and showcases the beauty of the meat in Pedro's style of cooking. We also noticed that they sold a variety Spanish cured meats for anyone interested.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jtravellerpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NZ lamb at its best!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great Christchurch experience. Pre-ordered and got great service, lamb was ready when we got there, served by Pedro. Smell was matched by taste! Lamb shoulder fell off the bone, potato was just right, topped off by fantastic juices...no need for any other gravy. One shoulder could have fed the four of us quite satisfactorily, however the two we got meant we had as much as we could desire... plus leftovers. Would recommend anyone who loves lamb to check out Pedros, we would be regulars if we were local.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great take out (to go) food.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Got lucky and got the last order of lamb, I did not know you needed a reservation. Call ahead if you want to be sure to get some. Really like the cream style roasted potatoes.
Perfect for two hungry people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skisumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pedro's House of Lamb also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pedro's House of Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing