We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”

Pedro's House of Lamb
Ranked #1 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A tender whole lamb shoulder cooked slowly over 4-5 hours, with garlic and rosemary to bring out the delicious flavour. Served with scalloped potatoes. TAKEAWAY
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This meal was a surprize and a delight. We didn't realize at the time that you could only have a dish 'to go' but it was excellent. We sat in Hagley Park and enjoyed the most tender tin foil dish of lamb and potatoes ever! The cardiologist probably wouln't have agreed with the amount of fat but I'm sure he would have enjoyed it too. A 'must do'. You could easly drive right past the little white cavaran which is Pedro's House of lamb so drive slowly as it is set back a little from the street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y-one19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    141
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
308 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Take-away place with superb lamb”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had heard about this place so upon arrival in Christchurch, we went right away to order some lamb to pick up for dinner that evening. We ended up with the leg of lamb which is huge and comes with a very large serving of scalloped potatoes. It comes in a large foil container which we carried down the street to our motel which was quite close by. What a feast! The lamb was sooooo delicious, quite possibly the best I've ever had. The two of us ate a awful lot of both the lamb and the potatoes (also very tasty) and still had enough left over which we stored in the fridge and heated up for a second dinner the following night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nom Nom nom”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Title says it all! This place is a winner and food was quick easy and affordable.

Enough food for 2-3 people

Helpful?
Thank kinopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the top ranking”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I've heard about Pedro's from friends and seen its reviews on TripAdvisor for some time. Today I have finally tried it :) The phone ordering was smooth; the place was easy to find; even though somewhere online it mentions cash-only, they do have EFTPOS. The lamb was very tender. I haven't had much other Spanish food so cannot comment on its Spanish-ness but overall the meal was very tasty. I would highly recommend Pedro's. Oh the price was actually quite cheap in the post-quake "village of Christchurch".

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xing S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“MMMMmmmmmm”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

WOW beautiful tender lamb that just fell of the bone, with (rosemary and garlic) scalloped potatoes and all of it beautiful. Also plenty for two adults and 1 five year old. You would struggle to find this anywhere cooked this well and $35 for the three of us excellent, and thank you Pedros.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pedro's House of Lamb also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pedro's House of Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing