We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular for a reason!”
Review of Dux Dine

Dux Dine
Ranked #22 of 1,074 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This restaurant was very busy on a Tuesday night but the friendly staff found us a table quickly. The food and wine was delicious, with a good variety of vegetarian options and different flavours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hello C12345
Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us. we always appreciate receiving all feedback and especially positive ones like yours.

We do hope you enjoy your time in Christchurch and New Zealand and look forward to seeing you back again some time in the future.

wishing you safe and enjoyable travels
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 646 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I enjoyed on numerous ocassion the Dux de Lux. It was a great spot but was taken out by the 2011 earthquake. This was a self serve restaurant. I hope it returns but that in no way is that a reflection on Dux Dine which is a different experience and well worthwhile. For any occasion you will not be disappointed. It recently received a best Christchurch restaurant award.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Conway10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello Conway10
Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant and your experience with us.

Yes, Dux Dine is quite different to that of its predecessor Dux de Lux however we still hold the same ideology with our commitment to sustainability and our seafood and vegetarian fare. You will have noticed the change to a more intricate menu and presentation.

Like you, we hope to return to Dux de Lux spoke time in the future and providing all that made it the icon it should again be. We fully intend to continue with what we're doing at Dux Dine, and hope our three awards are repeated in the years to come.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you back with us again in the near future.

Sincerely
Team Dux dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Out of the earthquake rubble of Christchurch has emerged this stunning restaurant.. We had a delightful lunch here on our visit to the city and the service, setting and food came up trumps. Menu choices were very good. We found the price of alcoholic beverages on the high side but this appears to be a typical feature of most of the NZ restaurants we visited in our 4 weeks of touring. Add this restaurant to your list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello jeffandjeannie

Thank you for your recent review of your experience with us.

We are very proud of our recent awards and the support from our fellow hospitality industry friends and the people of Christchurch for voting Dux Dine as the The Press People's Choice Establishment of the Year.

We hope you will return to NZ and Christchurch again in the near future.

Thanks again,
Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The minute you walk in the door you will love the surroundings and the food is great to. I have had brunch, lunch and dinner here and the choices of where to sit are great inside, in the covered verandah and outside in the courtyard.
The food is better than they served at the old Dux de Lux I think but they still cater for vegetarians and those who like fish.
The staff are friendly and helpful. I am never disappointed when I eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeffandjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello jeffandjeannie

Thank you very much for your review of your recent experiences with us at Dux Dine. It's great to hear we've impressed you kana number of occasions and for different times of the day and days of the week.

We do hope to continue the tradition for you and friends.

Thanks again,
Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Love this restaurant, for both lunch and dinner.
Great menu (love the fish!) and well priced for a beautiful meal. Good wine list and good service.

Thank fflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hello fflow
Thank you very much for your review of your recent experiences with us at Dux Dine.

We always love getting responses from our guests and we sincerely hope to see you back again on a regular basis.

Thanks again,
Best regards
Team Dux Dine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing