We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying Sandwiches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Deli

New York Deli
Ranked #236 of 952 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satisfying Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have been here many times, always delicious. A little pricey as you have to pay extra for salads and cheese, but always a good time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mwi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Samdwich ever!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

New to the area, was taken there on a date. The Sandwich was amazing. My new lunchtime venue once a week for a treat. I have and will continue to recommend to friends and family. And the toppings are great and varied and carved up in front of you (except for salads options obviously)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wessa666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gluten free heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

If like me you are gluten intolerant, then this place is for you. I went for the first time on Friday and have been back twice already. The staff were fantastic, explaining the range and my options, the sandwich was yum!!! So nice to be able to eat like 'a normal person' and have a bought sandwich. This place is my favourite new place. I'd love it if they did a loyalty card fir their sandwiches.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripMembe02202017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
882 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I like New York Deli but I believe it could be better. I'd go as far as to say it used to be better. They really skimp on the ingredients you ask for in you sandwich making it feel like you're really just eating a mouthful of bread. I buy the gluten free rolls and they're incredibly dry with no option or chance of having them toasted. They could really make this place a favourite lunch destination, but they're not quite there yet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“How did I not know about this place sooner?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Incredible!!! Juicy meat on delicious breads with the perfect sauce combos... It's just the best. The only thing that lets it down is having to pay extra for salads.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwoscoopsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Deli also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing