We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service and quality”

Flat White Cafe and Bar
Ranked #37 of 50 Coffee & Tea in Christchurch
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor service and quality”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have also used this café several times since moving to Pegasus. Early days the food and service was excellent, especially the fish and chips. This time was our first visit for some time and we all ordered the large breakfast. The café was fairly quiet and we were very surprised that we were made to wait around 40 minutes for the food to start arriving. Unfortunately several parts of the meal were cold whilst some items were over cooked to the point of being inedible. We obviously raised this with the staff but they basically showed no interest at all. Having taken the plates away they never spoke to us again so we just left feeling very disappointed with the whole experience. This is all very sad as just a short time ago we used to look forward to using our local café as the food was great. We will not be ordering hot food there again or recommending the place until we start hearing decent reviews

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank darrenjackson1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Continuity not good, ok if nothing else around”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have eaten here a few times so its not that bad that you won't want to return, however if there was something else near by I would go there instead. Visited recently with my mum we both had a chicken burger well you can't really call it that as the chicken fillet we both had was tiny, it didn't even cover half the burger bun and for the price we paid around $18 we were not impressed. Same as before me and my husband had previously had the fish and chips and enjoyed it, the following week we visited again but the portion size was tiny so different from the week before. There's always something not right whether its the food that's too cold or the food sizes too small. Great for a coffee as not much can really change about that I guess. Staff are always polite. Just a shame as I think the customers they have now will go elsewhere when the new places are built. It was also cold when we visited and we sat in the children's area with the kids, all the heating was off so it took a while to warm up also when we were looking around it was quite noticeable that the table flower decorations were all wilted. This is just being picky I know but sometimes the little things do count and make a difference.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bhullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Busy but lovely food and reasonably price”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were out on a driver over the Easter weekend, and called into Pegasus to have a look. Saw the cafe and really fancied a bite to eat.
We walked into the main serving area and it was really busy, quite noisy with lots of families.
Placed our order and saw an outdoor unit pretty empty, we went in and despite being the childrens area, there were no children and it was really peaceful.
Unfortunately a lot of the tables weren't cleared but accepted it was a very busy public holiday.
Our food arrived within 30 minutes, which was fine. I went for the pancakes and my partner had a kiwi breakfast but without the meat. Both dishes were hot and tasty.
Seeing that the tables were so so cluttered with dirty dishes, I thought the waiter might have cleared a few of these away on his return trip to the kitchen, but he didn't.
If we are out that way again, we will call in. We couldn't fault the food or the price and free wifi is a plus!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Efc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One and a half hour wait then cold overcooked food!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to go out for a family lunch at this cafe on queens birthday. It was busy but not as busy as some other cafes i have been too. We ordered food from the cabinet and some soups, not too labour intensive! After an hours wait we asked the waitress how much longer the food would be, she went out the back and asked the kitchen and said it was just beingade. We asked why it was taking so long and she said rudely, its busy! A further hour later the meals came, the soup was cold and the sausage was overcooked and inedible. On top of this the food seemed expensive compared to other cafes. We will definitely not be returning again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We've always enjoyed Flat White in the past, enjoying hearty meals and decent coffee.
However, on a recent visit, both the service and the food were disappointing. The last time we went, my father got the fish and chips and he enjoyed it so much that he asked for it on this visit. The waitress' reply was 'go to a takeaway' - not exactly friendly or polite.
We got eggs florentine and wished we hadn't; the eggs were overcooked (more like hard-boiled than anything else) and the salmon also tasted overcooked. The meal was finished off with ordinary salad cream rather than hollandaise sauce.

We will not be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee_Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flat White Cafe and Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Flat White Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing