We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night”

The Twisted Hop Gastropub
Ranked #78 of 966 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Asian, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Seating indoors for up to 70 downstairs with further seating for 25 outside in a sheltered deck area. Upstairs function room with a capacity for 40 is suitable for private parties, weddings or corporate meetings. The fit-out was created using recycled and earthquake recovered native timbers and furniture. Some private booth seating downstairs and large acoustic panels make good conversation easy. The bar features classic beer engines or hand pulls for the delivery of English style cask conditioned beers. A wide selection of NZ and international craft beers and ciders are also available, bottled and on tap. Our menu includes good quality pub food with the addition of regularly changing chef's specials. For functions we offer a choice of a finger food menu, three course function menu and a buffet menu to suit your special occasion. Parking is conveniently located at the rear of the pub.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had a great night with good food and best beer. Perect fish excellent lamb salad great bangers & mash

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great bar, great food, fantastic beer!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The well loved micro brewery bar from CHCH city centre has reopened on Ferry Road.
It is a traditional although modern styled pub/bar, great ambiance, live music, courtyard, great food menu but an incredibly impressive beer menu, on tap and bottled! What is really nice is that you are able to talk and hear each other ! Definitely worth a visit for a drink and/or a feed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Bright, cheerful and great food.”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Last time we were in the Twisted Hop it was with a TA goup in Poplar Lane a week before the quake. Sunday we returned with friends to the Woolston version.

it was first class. It feels modern and safe, but with a lot of character. it was especially pleasing that they got the accoustics right. it was buzzing but you could hear your friend across the table.
the menues both food and beer, was great the service was friendly and efficient.

it offered particuarly good value. this place will be a favourite for many

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best real ale bar in New Zealand”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

After the quakes, the choice of good bars has been somewhat limited in Christchurch, but I'm glad to say that one of the best, maybe THE best is back. The new "Twisted Hop at Woolston" is light and airy, but has a courtyard/garden if you like to soak up the sun while relaxing with a real pint. It is on a main bus route from the centre, so you don't need to worry about having too many beers for the road.
The Twisted Hop range of ales brewed and then dispensed by hand pump in the traditional english style is recognised among kiwis as well as we brits as among the best in New Zealand. I would recommend the Hopback I P A.
The atmosphere is laid-back and the staff are very friendly. The food which is produced by a chef who has trained in France was delicious, although I have to admit that I'm really here for the beer. I think the Hop is a must for all craft beer fans and real-ale lovers visiting Christchurch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Twisted Hop Gastropub also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Twisted Hop Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing