We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai food, nice ambiance, even better service!”

Abalone Thai Restaurant
Ranked #133 of 968 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai food, nice ambiance, even better service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We dropped off our camper & arrived at our motel around dinner time, looking for a feed. Our motel suggested if we liked Thai food, to try Abalone Thai and they would even pick us up from the motel at no charge! This was an offer too good to refuse & when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised by the authentic atmosphere, the Thai wait staff, the excellent wine list & most of all the quality of the food! Oh, and we were also given nice hot hand towels on arrival which is apparently something new & a very nice touch. On the ride back to the motel, we discovered our driver was actually the owner & he was happy to tell us about the quality of the ingredients he uses (which certainly make a difference). We are happy to highly recommend this restaurant. Ian & Deb, Gold Coast

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We found this little restaurant in a strip mall (in the back) and had a great dinner there. The staff was very friendly, and the service was excellent. We asked them to call us a taxi back to our hotel (we had walked about 2 miles to get there), they asked us to have a seat outside and we would be picked up in a few mintues...Sure enough, a vehicle pulled up and the gentleman inside said get in, I'll take you to the hotel...It turned out to be the restaurant owner! He came from home to take us back to our hotel! Amazing, where else would you get this kind of service? He would not take a dime from us, just thanked us for eating at his restaurant. We LOVE New Zealand! Do yourself a favor, and take the time to find this restaurant in Christchurch! You won't be sorry!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nichoj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Fully recommend this restaurant to all Thai food lovers. We didn't have transport to get to the reataurant but they delivered or offered to pick us up and take us to the restaurant. The price was good and quality of the food excellent. It was truely Thai hot!!! What a shame we live in Perth. Will miss this restaurant. Best Thai takeaway I have ever had.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwijohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“good food, nice atmosphere, gracious service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Best meal we've had in Christchurch so far. The spicing was good and the dishes a cut above the ordinary. Nice environment and gracious service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“NOT impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Havent been for a couple of years but it was very poor Food not up to standard. It may have improved but wasnt good when we visited

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janney51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abalone Thai Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Abalone Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing