We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat apart from the smoking”
Review of The Astro Lounge

The Astro Lounge
Ranked #88 of 992 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neat apart from the smoking”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a great day but it was marred by a gentleman who appeared to own or run the place sitting in the inside marquee bit and smoke. Beside the no smoking sign too. Really was poor form and a tad arrogant seeing they advertise themselves as kid friendly. You cannot call the section by the bar outside....

If it wasn't for that I would have said it was a great experience but that did really give a bad impression.

Jed and Hera on the other hand rocked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwichickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nelson
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun place for a predinner drink.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a yummy margarita and listened to live latin music before heading off to dinner. The food looked nice from what we could see. Great location down an alley way behind a restaurant. Quirky garden setting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A hidden boho gem”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

It was our last night in NZ and we just wanted a light dinner somewhere close to our b&b in Gloucester Street. We discovered this place by accident and it was a perfect funky outdoor area with heaters, fairy lights and candles. Very friendly staff and yummy food. Service was very good. We were dead chuffed with this little find especially as the city centre of poor Christchurch is looking very sorry for itself.

Helpful?
Thank Freckled_Face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome for drinks”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Nice spot out back and massive craft beer selection. Prices are higher for craft beers but our group felt they were fair. Good bar food too which was different from the norm - bean dip was a standout.
Good place for after work drinks and a bite to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Benn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner and drinks”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've been to Astro Lounge several times for drinks and nibbles, but never for dinner. I was pleasantly surprised at both the speed and quality of the food, even on an extremely busy Saturday night. Good, unpretentious food at excellent prices; they have a fantastic range of beers to wash down said food with

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pondo873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Astro Lounge also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Astro Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing