We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Apollo Motel Christchurch
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Motel Christchurch
Ranked #97 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Our last stop in NZ was Christchurch. Luckily, we booked this motel well in advance. There were numerous events going on in Christchurch, and with the damage done by the earthquake, there were no more rooms to be found in the city. We liked the upstairs room as it had a cathedral ceiling, making the place seem very large. The kitchen was well equipped. Buses to the city center and to the airport run right by the motel so it is easy to get around if you do not have a car. Since the motel is on a main street, there is some traffic, but we did not find that there was traffic noise in the room at night. Very pleasant stay with very pleasant hosts.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    24
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
25
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had only a very short stay at the Apollo Motel (we were in transit), the room was lovely, very clean and warm. Staff were very friendly and all mod-cons were available. Would stay at the Apollo again, great location and a comfortable night was had before we were on the road again.

Excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Nice comfy motel. We had an up stairs room, and unfortunately the noise from passers by at 1am on Sunday morning was not what we had expected to hear. However the unit itself was warm, comfy and cozy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1ngsGld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A very nice place to stay at. Heather was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRJGadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Austell
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We suspected it would be good when we saw the logo but our first floor room was superbly appointed. Good shops within walking distance and an easy drive to the Botanical Gardens and then a walk to the centre of Christchurch. We stopped two nights and Alan was extremely helpful This motel is within easy reach of the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankusSt_Austell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom unit. Clean, tidy and cosy. Slept comfortably even though we experienced two aftershocks that night! Good location as close to riccarton shopping centre. Heather was a very friendly host

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VWLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Duplex unit with large upstairs bedroom and toilet, downstairs small lounge kitchen, second bedroom. Able to walk to Riccarton Mall with all the shops ,restaurants etc Helpful and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Athena Motel & Apartments
Athena Motel & Apartments
#90 of 144 in Christchurch
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#70 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#63 of 144 in Christchurch
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#80 of 144 in Christchurch
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
166 Majestic Court Motel
166 Majestic Court Motel
#87 of 144 in Christchurch
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christchurch Motel
Christchurch Motel
#94 of 144 in Christchurch
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Motel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Motel Christchurch

Property: Apollo Motel Christchurch
Address: 288 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#52 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Motel Christchurch 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Motel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing