We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms and great staff - top location too!”

Apollo Motel Christchurch
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Motel Christchurch
Ranked #104 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and great staff - top location too!”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

A lovely and warm reception from the staff and great flexibility with our early and late arrival times due to flights. Great room, small outdoor area and a great feel. Easy trip to town and good spots to eat not too far away. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    24
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
25
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We had a lovely stay. The owners are helpful and very friendly. Rooms were much nicer than we were expecting and the well-maintained flower gardens were a pleasant touch. We have been back again, and have been more than satisfied with Apollo on both occasions.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in a downstairs room in the Apollo for one night as somewhere to tide us over between an incoming flight at Christchurch Airport and a long drive down south.

My first impression was that this small two-storey motel was on a very noisy main road and had a very cramped car park, requiring some tight manouvering. The lack of care from some other guests in parking their cars made this even harder -- if you're driving an unfamiliar car you might be best off parking in the small side street nearby. However, on check in the owners were very friendly and helpful, I found Internet access was generous and fast, and the room was clean and tidy.

The room had basic self-catering facilities (bar fridge, microwave, hot plates, kettle), which was fine for a short stay and seems to be the standard for self-catering motels in New Zealand, but would have been a bit lacking for a stay of any longer than a few nights. The room was very cramped, though, with a queen bed, bedside tables, and small two-person dining table with two chairs and a lounge chair all squashed into square footage that could only really accommodate the bed and side tables. Again for a single night it was okay, but even then my wife and I got in each other's way and had to continually move our luggage around; for a longer stay it would have been frustrating.

The bathroom was okay, although the shower was one of the non-recessed (flat floor) access types with a nylon curtain, and it didn't quite work right; the water dribbled from the shower curtain straight out towards the bedroom and was only stopped by placing a towel carefully to mop it up before it reached the carpet. (The obvious water damage around the bottom edges of the bathroom doorway showed that I was not the first guest to discover this design fault.) Supplied soap was very nice, but the conditioning shampoo (no separate conditioner) was in a pump affixed in the shower, and wasn't the best.

The most disappointing thing about our stay, however, was the noise during the night. The road noise was very loud, even with the double-glazed windows, but even worse was the noise from other guests moving around upstairs and going up and down the stairs early in the morning. We both slept quite poorly.

Overall the Apollo was okay, but the crowded nature of the place, the noisy location on Riccarton Road, and worst of all, the noise from other guests late at night and early in the morning, marred what would otherwise be a much more pleasant place to stay. We can only assume that if we stayed in an upstairs room we would have had considerably less broken sleep, although being slightly higher up may increase the road noise.

Room Tip: An upstairs room should reduce noise from other guests in the early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PacificFing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked over the phone and were impressed with the service, this was confirmed when we arrived. The motel operators were very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and clean. Despite being the closet room to Riccarton Rd we found the room to be quiet due to the double glazing and room layout. Excellent free Internet and a selection of Sky TV channels. Handy location, we will return

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

very comfortable, spacious and immaculately presented units on Riccarton Road, close to University (10 min walk) and Westfield mall (15 min walk), on the main bus routes to the city and outside. Very friendly and helpful owners. Would certainly recommend this as a good base for the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khattab_Towers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Our last stop in NZ was Christchurch. Luckily, we booked this motel well in advance. There were numerous events going on in Christchurch, and with the damage done by the earthquake, there were no more rooms to be found in the city. We liked the upstairs room as it had a cathedral ceiling, making the place seem very large. The kitchen was well equipped. Buses to the city center and to the airport run right by the motel so it is easy to get around if you do not have a car. Since the motel is on a main street, there is some traffic, but we did not find that there was traffic noise in the room at night. Very pleasant stay with very pleasant hosts.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had only a very short stay at the Apollo Motel (we were in transit), the room was lovely, very clean and warm. Staff were very friendly and all mod-cons were available. Would stay at the Apollo again, great location and a comfortable night was had before we were on the road again.

Excellent!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Riccarton
Comfort Inn Riccarton
#127 of 145 in Christchurch
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amore Motor Lodge
Amore Motor Lodge
#20 of 145 in Christchurch
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
FYFFE on Riccarton Motor Lodge
#47 of 145 in Christchurch
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#62 of 145 in Christchurch
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#83 of 145 in Christchurch
61 reviews
0.6 mi away
166 Majestic Court Motel
166 Majestic Court Motel
#91 of 145 in Christchurch
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Motel Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Motel Christchurch

Property: Apollo Motel Christchurch
Address: 288 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#54 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Motel Christchurch 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Motel Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing