We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 115 Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Ranked #44 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a Grabone voucher for room and breakfast. A good deal. Hotel was modern, great location, tasteful decor, quiet. However, anyone using this voucher should be aware that breakfast food in the fridge does not include the juices. Milk and yoghurt in fridge is included and juices are charged at $6 each. There was no checklist to indicate what is minibar v complimentary breakfast. Breakfast was very good and yum. Also, the room has no aircon. And no sky tv. All good for us as weather was mild. And Novotel bar next door had sky sport in bar, so could watch the cricket there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Jill B

Thank you for your review on Hotel 115 and glad to see you made good use of your grabone voucher and you enjoyed the breakfast. Yes you are correct we don’t have air con but we do have really good fans upon request if needed. As regards to sky it is stated on all websites that it is digital but it is something we will look into for the future. Thanking you, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    127
    44
    26
    26
See reviews for
32
185
47
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

What a great boutique hotel with very helpful staff. We stayed for two nights in early January and were pleased with the hotel. It is modern and well equipped.

The hotel staff gave us some fantastic recommendations of places to eat which was great. Highly recommend this spot. It doesn't have proper aircon though which would make it very hot in high temps.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear ACSydney,

Thank you for your very nice review on Hotel 115 and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself with us and the staff were helpful.
Regards to the air con, unfortunately our building is quite old (one of few still standing from the quakes, thankfully) so we don't have any but we do have really good fans available upon request. Thanking you, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were looking for a hotel in the city center of Christchurch and this one
certainly is. But sadly, Christchurch is still under serious construction due
to the earthquakes that hit it so hard. So at 7:00pm, there wasn't much
around us that was open, and in some cases open for business.
This property offers everything it says it does, it's very nice and boutique like.
Our room was spacious and had a slight city view, also a window
that opened about 3 inches.
The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very nice.
The only complaint I have is that there is no air conditioner or ceiling fan.
The room was very still, even with the window open.

Room Tip: If you travel during a time when you'd need a/c, make sure your window is facing the way the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear 4pamalama
Thank you for your review on Hotel 115. Yes Christchurch was severely hit from the earthquakes but thankfully construction is coming on and more things are starting to open and everyone has a great positive outlook that will get us there eventually, so you must come back for a visit in a few years, I’m sure you will be shocked with the changes and the future Christchurch. 
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. Yes unfortunately our building is very old (one of the few which survived, thankfully) but we don’t have air con but we do have good fans for the rooms upon request. Thank you for your review, Sarah Niu, the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently stayed three nights at Hotel 115, which has been refurbished since the earthquakes. Loved the quirky, colourful décor. Our room was a good size, proper opening windows in the quaint old arched frames, with retro-fitted double glazing to keep things quiet at night. The room was disabled-friendly one, which wasn't a problem apart from the shower head being very low, designed obviously for a seated shower, but my husband and I are vertically challenged anyway, so we managed okay. Water pressure was a problem and the temperature fluctuated quite a bit. The addition of a shelf in the bathroom would be a huge help, as there is nowhere to put a sponge bag. The staff were very helpful, especially Emma, who told us where could eat and drink. There is very little of anything open in the city but thanks to Emma, we found a great little coffee shop in New Regent Street and a very fine restaurant in Worcester Street (Fiddlesticks). We would happily stay at Hotel 115 again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Earthsinger

Thank you for your review on Hotel 115 and your kind words. Very pleased to see you had a good time here and you enjoyed yourself. Apologies about the water pressure, we will be sure to have that looked at. I will be sure to pass on to Emma your kind words, always nice to get feedback on the staff.
Thanking you, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Nice boutique hotel - only 30 rooms - set just behind the Christchurch Cathedral. Perhaps one of the more central hotels that is open?

Tastefully decorated and nicely appointed rooms, of a decent size, with modern bathrooms that are well-appointed (though the shower tended to flood the bathrooms floor). Comfortable beds, we slept very well. Windows can be opened (we were on the 1st floor), but we saw no evidence of air conditioning, so did get a bit hot at night.

Central to Christchurch - although not much is left in the city centre. There was an Irish girl at the desk when we checked in who was extremely knowledgable about restaurants in town, and drew them out on the map for us, which was very handy because restaurants are often quite far apart, with the construction and demolition scattered about town. She was very helpful.

We got quite a good deal on lastminute.com

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danastarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Danastarr
Thank you for your review on Hotel 115. Yes you are correct we are in heart of it all in the city centre. I’m glad your enjoyed your stay and that you found the receptionist Emma helpful- I will make sure to pass it on to her.
Thanking you, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Ok, so I thought I had stayed at a bad hotel a few months ago while I was in Vegas but this one definitely takes the cake for being all sorts of BAD. I was in Christchurch for one night in January 2012. Having traveled over 10 hours from North of Australia I got to the hotel around midnight. Upon getting there, I saw that the reception doors were locked. The hotel didn't have a lockbox or a call box. I had to use my international roaming to get a hold of the hotel manager (who also own the property). All this took about 45 minutes. During check-in, I confronted the hotel manager about the check-in time and she was indifferent to the entire situation and threatened me and told me she would refuse to give me the keys. After the awful check-in process, I walked into my shoebox of a room where the bathroom sink was clogged so I couldn't even freshen up properly. At this point I had given up on the hotel and went to bed, hoping for a fresh start to my day. But then again, I was so naive to think that I would get a good night's sleep at this hotel. You see, my room was right in front of the tram line so being a very light sleeper I was woken up very early in the morning. The hotel is supposed to be a boutique hotel but it should be classified as a backpackers hostel. The staff is rude, the hotel rooms are tiny, dirty and nosiy. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelBum27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear TravelBum27.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Hotel 115 and thank you for your review.
Firstly I would just like to mention that you are correct, we are not a 24hr hotel & reception hours are 7am-10pm. This is clearly stated on all websites & in confirmation letters, including the website that you made your reservation through, you need to contact the hotel with regards to out of reception hours check in. As we were never contacted we did not know of your expected late arrival, so we do apologise about your wait.
Secondly we are deeply saddened to read your description of your room as a "shoebox". Upon learning that it was your honeymoon, a free upgrade to a superior room with bath was issued, as a congratulatory token to fulfil our commitment to outstanding customer service. These rooms always far exceed customer expectations, so possibly in this case, customer expectations were a little high. We would like to apologise if any false aspirations was given by hotel publicity or third party web based partners.
Following your review all sinks have been thoroughly checked as we have a high standard of maintenance here at Hotel 115. However, we do understand that our sink fittings may be confusing for some as they are not the traditional style of sink plug. Should you choose to stay with us again in the future please note that you simply press the centre of the stopper to release the water.
As regards to the tram, it does start running at 9:30am every morning, apologies that you were woken by it. As it is one of the major attractions in Christchurch, Hotel 115 views its proximity to the tram, a major advantage. However as this is the first complaint we have had about tram noise since the hotel opened, we would firstly like to thank you for raising this to our attention, and secondly assure you that we are monitoring the situation very closely. If Hotel 115 finds that action is required then we will act immediately as we strive for top levels of guest satisfaction.
I am very sorry that you didn’t have the experience that you expected with us. Here at Hotel 115 we do endeavour to meet all of our guests needs and we do want everyone to have an enjoyable time.
Thanking you, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hotel 115 sits right behind Christchurch Cathedral, and was a fab hotel to stay at. Its handy for walking to town and will defintely return one day. Its clean and tidy, there is a great coffee shop in the precinct, that did fab breakfasts and you can eat there in the evenings.. Lurved it.. will definitely return one day..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177sarahn, General Manager at Hotel 115 Christchurch, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Alison W.
Thank you very much for your lovely kind words about the Hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly look forward to a return visit from you in the future.
Thanking you kindly, Sarah Niu, the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 115 Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 115 Christchurch

Property: Hotel 115 Christchurch
Address: 115 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Hotel Off The Square)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 115 Christchurch 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 115 is a locally owned contemporary boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. The chic hotel design brings a feeling of luxury and elegance but with a modern, eclectic style. Behind bespoke yellow doors, the hotel’s thirty rooms boast a mix of classic as well as modern features. A relaxing place full of modern charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 115 Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off The Square Hotel
Off The Square Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing