We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individualistic and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Ranked #40 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Individualistic and central”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We chose this hotel for its position and decor. We stayed in the hotel on two separate nights, at the beginning and end of our tour of the south island and we weren't disappointed. Both different rooms we stayed in were beautifully presented throughout and lived up to their claim of 'not one room is the same'. (They were not dissimilar to the Malmaison chain of hotels that you get in the UK if you are familiar with them.) Cleanliness was excellent and staff were friendly and polite. Only drawback was that both mornings of our stay we needed an early check out and both times it proved to be a problem as the reception was not manned. When we finally did rouse a member of staff there were problems paying by debit card, so just have cash or a credit card ready and allow plenty of time to check out.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    134
    48
    28
    26
See reviews for
33
200
49
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My husband and I stayed in one room and our teenage daughter and her friend in another next door for the All Black v Wallaby game. Fantastic location especially seeing the All Black team was in the Heritage across the road and being close to Cathdral Square with all the weekends activities. Tim, Tim, Sue and staff were extremely hospitable and friendly. Black out curtains in rooms provide a great late sleep in so get a wake up call if you have to catch a flight. Have already recommended people stay here for the personal service and atmosphere. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel is very welcoming. The owner was having shared drinks in the lobby with guests when we arrived. Lovely art work and candles made the atmosphere fun and welcoming. Rooms are all different - well appointed and comfortable. Great location in the heart of the city. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Loved the decor, felt relaxed, close to everything. Check out the French restaurant next door. Hotel Off The Square made the short stay in Christchurch memorable...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_ee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We got a half price deal for a Superior Room through Accor, so scored a great deal. Our room was an average size with a huge bed. Free internet, comfy bed and views through arched windows of an old charming building across the street. Noise wasn't too bad for a city hotel, and the drapes blocked out most street light. Our room was warm enough, though we had to ask for an extra blanket. The appliances are a bit dated - the TV is old-school, the phone didn't work and the fridge hummed. They didn't detract from our stay but they weren't quite as we were expecting for a moderately priced hotel. The hotel has a pleasant and colourful feel about it, the staff are ok without being outstanding, and the location is central but certainly not in the best part of Christchurch. I'd go back, but would get the basic room and look around for a discount.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad2jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

When I travel I dread sterile hotel rooms that are functional only and express no feeling. Thanks for Off the Square a truly funky and styly place. The owner must have stamped their mark on the place. Well done and looking forward now at least to stayig in Christchurh.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samwise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I travel to Christchurch a lot, since Ive found this hotel I now look forward to staying over. Honestly its got that cosy boutique atmosphere you will not forget. If your after somehting cosy, modern wih friendly service and right in the middle of the city this is it, Definitely not those cheepo apartments or sterile hotels, We need more of these in NZ. Not for those who want rambling big rooms thought cause their roons are kinda odd in shape but funky. So check your room first.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaahu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 115 Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 115 Christchurch

Property: Hotel 115 Christchurch
Address: 115 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Hotel Off The Square)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 115 Christchurch 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 115 is a locally owned contemporary boutique hotel located in the heart of the city. The chic hotel design brings a feeling of luxury and elegance but with a modern, eclectic style. Behind bespoke yellow doors, the hotel’s thirty rooms boast a mix of classic as well as modern features. A relaxing place full of modern charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 115 Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off The Square Hotel
Off The Square Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing