We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!!”
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Ranked #126 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Glentunnel, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very clean,quiet and well priced!!Great location within an easy walk of Hagley Park and the Riccaton Mall.Plenty of car parking and friendly reception staff.A great place to stay as is central to most of the cities attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    58
    71
    30
    9
See reviews for
16
103
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location in Ricarton. The rooms were always warm which was great with 2 infants. The room size was good to fit the 4 of us ( 1 queen bed and 1 king single). The beds were extremely comfortable which is usually hard to find in the cheaper hotels.

Would stay there again

Bathroom is a bit dated but we only spent nights in the room as the rest of the time we were traveling around NZ

The staff were extremely nice from the moment we arrived until we left.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bramhall
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

So easy to find when you are straight off the plane with jet lag!! Large comfortable clean simple room. Lots of places to eat nearby and a quick getaway in the morning. The staff were helpful and friendly. Christchurch centre is just across the park

Room Tip: No bath plug! use the one from the sink plus a flannel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is an average grade Motel Hotel that gives good value for money. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The place was very quiet with no noise so we got a good nights sleep. A shame they charge for the internet as it was on the expensive side, these days I expect it to be included in room rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed as a young couple for a brief stopover after flying in to Christchurch before catching the scenic train the next day.

The taxi driver who took us there said that the hotel had been refurbished entirely in recent years and that previously he wouldn't have recommended the hotel, but now he was happy to and considered it quite nice. I'm not sure when this refurbishment took place but that could account for some of the older, worse reviews.

The room was clean and modern, comfortable beds and a nice size bathroom. Basic but perfectly fine for a short stopover. We made use of the free internet which worked well.

The hotel was a short walk from local restaurants (worth walking along Riccarton Road to Rotherham Street for the nicest selection), and the area felt perfectly safe in the evening.

As we were catching the TranzAlpine train the next day we asked at reception about a shuttle bus for the following morning, which they were more than happy to arrange and supply for us free of charge.

We checked out at around 7:20 in the morning and the shuttle bus picked us up bang on time, excellent!

All in all a very good stop over before travelling on around the south island.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adamf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

As newlyweds on honeymoon, we stayed for one night after a long international flight before taking the TranzAlpine railroad. Rooms were clean and spacious and service was courteous enough, but it didn't feel like a full-service hotel catering to tourists (e.g, no concierge). Free internet was a nice amenity (and as we learned, somewhat rare on the South Island), but having to re-enter passwords constantly was a bit annoying. We heard that rooms are scarce in Christchurch so we were happy to have lodging that met our basic needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phandi316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We booked for two nights and had an enjoyable stay there. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. The Hotel appears to have been refurbished and is physically more like a Motel -which actually is a bonus.
It is in walking distance to a major shopping Mall and is in close proximity to numerous types of restaraunts.(A bottle shop is only a few minutes walk)
A pleasant stroll thru Hagley Park brings you into the "Container" shopping area where the Red Zone can be viewed.
Would we stay there again "Yes"

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macaranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#91 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#63 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#86 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
123 Motel
123 Motel
#112 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Towers on the Park
Towers on the Park
#27 of 132 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Property: The Ashley Hotel
Address: 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is a newly refurbished, 45-room hotel that delivers a charming, relaxed and convenient experience. The Ashley Hotel is located in Riccarton, within walking distance of Hagley Park, shopping malls, dozens of restaurants and cafés, Christchurch Hospital, the train station and plenty of other Christchurch attractions. We offer several different Christchurch hotel room types, perfect whether you are visiting for business, holiday or as part of a group. For your convenience, The Ashley Hotel also has disabled facilities. Whatever your reason for visiting Christchurch, enjoy it in comfort and style at The Ashley Hotel Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing