We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Ranked #118 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 15 September 2013

5 nights here. Nice modern room, excellent free wifi. Helpful staff. Bathroom not quite up to the same standard as the main room but did the job. Close to many restaurants and shops. Good parking. Bit of a trek to 3rd floor outside when wet. No lifts. Basic breakfast was quite pricey though. The Ashley suited my needs and I would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZL408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback goes a long way to improve future guest experience. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Ashley for one evening before travelling to Queenstown. We were greeted by a friendly efficient young lady who did everything to assist in our check in. Our room was basic but very clean and comfortable with adequate facilities for a pleasant stay. Checkout was again friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livestats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. We are glad to see our high standards of customer service were of no exception to your stay. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Problems before I got there. Asked by email for best bus to hotel. The bus they told me which i caught entailed a half hour walk across two highways dragging cases. Found out when I got there was that there was one they didnt tell me about drops you off 50 m from the gate.
Asked for a quiet room. The hotel was virtually empty yet they put me next to an occupied room and i found out how thin the walls were.They put me into a room where the windows don't shut so I had to put up with traffic and train noise from the nearby highway and railway tracks. Also the following morning an industrial air compressor was set up outside my door for the worksite within 50 feet of my unit. Finally the room has fist holes in the wall. Broken toilet damaged ceiling and broken skirtiing.. I would not rate this as a hotel but as a low class motel.

Room Tip: Buy a good bag of ear plugs. Better still. Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for your review.

We apologize for the mishap on your bus route. We will endeavor to make sure the correct bus is given via email to avoid confusion.

Being at 90% occupancy on the night in question we unfortunately could not help but put you in a room next to another guest. We are sorry you feel the walls did not met your noise standards. We very rarely get complaints and deal with them promptly if we do. You would have recognized that as soon as you let us know we rectified all issues with your room ,i.e. the hairline cracks in one corner of your room ( due to earthquakes ) and tightened up the loose skirting board. We also placed new handles on your windows to make sure they were getting a tight seal. We are sorry there had been a miscommunication from our housekeeping staff about these issues. The previous guest has been charged for the small hole in the wall.

We also are sorry for the contractors who illegally parked in our car park to do floor polishing in a next door office building. As you know one of our staff members promptly told them to shut down and move which they did. We understood how upset you were by your tone and language used towards our staff.

Again we are sorry for the inconveniences caused and hope you were more satisfied by the new room we provided to make sure the next 2 nights of your stay where very quiet which I believe they were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked for one night in the Ashley Hotel through Flybuys in a King Studio. It's really a motel. Facilities are minimal, and as you enter the stairwell (no lifts) you could be forgiven for thinking that you've stepped back in time to a 1960s British council estate. It aint pretty..

The good bits:

- Rooms are extremely clean, warm and obviously recently refurbished.
- Bed was very comfortable with good linen
- Room was very quiet, even considering it was Saturday night and the Crusaders won at home in Riccarton
- Front desk staff were very pleasant


The not so good
- the door onto the (external) hallway is a ranchslider, so you have to have the curtains closed during the day unless you want everyone staring straight into your room as they walk past
- king studio was smaller than expected
- no gardens/pool/outside space at all - fine for a quick overnighter but wouldn't be great for a longer stay.


All in all - fine for what it is, but not the most memorable.

Room Tip: King studios are not bigger rooms - just have larger beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slinkymalinkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback. Thank you for your comments about our rooms and we take pride in our high standards of staff friendliness and glad to see it was no exception to your stay. Once again thank you for your review and wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed in the Ashley hotel for one night before taking our campervan around the South Island. We arrived at 10pm and were shown to her room. No food available so we walked to a local shop for some coke and crisps. The manager booked us a shuttle back to the campervan rental depot and we headed off to bed. The rooms were small, basic but fine.

The next morning, we checked out at 10am as instructed by the manager. At this time, the receptionist said that breakfast had finished and could not offer us tea or any food. We found this to be very bad service as the hotel looked pretty much empty. We again returned to the shop for tea.

To top off a crappy morning, the manager had booked the shuttle for 11 people instead of two. Therefore, after a ten minute ride, the guy looked for 60 dollars off us! We paid reluctantly but this was double the cost of a taxi and the fault of the Ashley hotel.

Plenty of hotels in Christchurch. If you want good service, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize we did not meet your expectations. Breakfast in our restaurant is form 7am till 8.45am this is coincided with our busiest times of checkout and guest demand. We take pride in our staff friendliness and service and your issues raised will be addressed. We have implemented new systems to prevent a future occurrence. Please feel free to contact us to discuss further and ask for our General manager. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very clean,quiet and well priced!!Great location within an easy walk of Hagley Park and the Riccaton Mall.Plenty of car parking and friendly reception staff.A great place to stay as is central to most of the cities attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location in Ricarton. The rooms were always warm which was great with 2 infants. The room size was good to fit the 4 of us ( 1 queen bed and 1 king single). The beds were extremely comfortable which is usually hard to find in the cheaper hotels.

Would stay there again

Bathroom is a bit dated but we only spent nights in the room as the rest of the time we were traveling around NZ

The staff were extremely nice from the moment we arrived until we left.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.5 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#109 of 146 in Christchurch
69 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Elms
Quality Hotel Elms
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
Heartland Hotel Cotswold
#65 of 146 in Christchurch
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £58 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is a newly refurbished, 45-room hotel that delivers a charming, relaxed and convenient experience. The Ashley Hotel is located in Riccarton, within walking distance of Hagley Park, shopping malls, dozens of restaurants and cafés, Christchurch Hospital, the train station and plenty of other Christchurch attractions. We offer several different Christchurch hotel room types, perfect whether you are visiting for business, holiday or as part of a group. For your convenience, The Ashley Hotel also has disabled facilities. Whatever your reason for visiting Christchurch, enjoy it in comfort and style at The Ashley Hotel Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing