We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay”
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Ranked #126 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overnight stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on recommendation from partner hotels and did not disappoint. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great location and friendly staff. Good value to for Christchurch would definitely recommend for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jk8954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our clean and comfortable rooms, convenient location and friendly staff. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    58
    71
    30
    9
See reviews for
16
103
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here in April 2013 and found this property to be excellent. We only stayed for one night as we were hopping onto the TranzAlpine the next morning. The room I was in was good and comfortable and I loved receiving the welcome cupcake in our room it was a lovely touch. The breakfast the next morning was hot and plentiful and overall your staff are great! Will be staying here again in the near future!

Room Tip: It's close to a big shopping mall so you can buy stuff if you have misplaced anything alone your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Ashley Hotel has seen better days but it's clean, comfortable and provides all the basics. Our stay was overnight so the floor-to-ceiling front windows were not an issue but as there are facing hotel wings 15 metres apart it would be an understandable privacy issue for long stays. Room features a large wall mounted TV, electric jug and plenty of coffee, tea, sugar, milk etc. Not sure if there was bar fridge tucked away somewhere? Bathroom provides the requisite soaps, shampoos and selection of face, bath and hand towels. Only a 15-20 minute drive from the airport and easy to find with plenty of guest off-road parking. View of the Port Hills to the east over the suburban rooftops from the second floor.
Situated 1 minute walk off Riccarton Road (the University student suburb) there are a lot of interesting drinking and dining options within walking distance. (The Fox & Ferret was one.)
On check-out we were charged $25.50 for a call back to Australia that had lasted two minutes simply confirming we had landed. Don't phone home!

Room Tip: North facing and south facing wings face each other. View to the east from second floor up. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GXDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback and your comments go a long way in our strive to provide the best service for our guests. Thank you for your comments regarding our comfortable rooms and convenient location. The fridges are located under the desk in the rooms. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The room was on the ground floor, near to reception, so with floor to ceiling tinted glass it did feel like being in a goldfish bowl. For any privacy you have to fully close the curtains day and night. The bathroom was a little tired, the vanity unit was heavily stained, and the notices to LOCK all doors and windows resulted in condensation. The bed was comfortable though, the room was clean,
and the receptionist was friendly and very helpful. Excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FEE800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay and have taken your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service for our guests. Our floor to ceiling windows gives guests the option if the want more of an open feel or privacy with curtains. Our notice to lock all doors and windows is for when leaving the room to ensure your possessions remain safe in your room. Thank you for your comments regarding our comfortable beds, friendly staff, convenient location and clean rooms. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We needed a hotel in the Riccarton area and we chose the Ashley. We booked by phone and the receptionist, Jessica, was friendly and efficient. The hotel has a Qualmark rating of three stars plus, and did not disappoint. The same receptionist greeted us on arrival and was bright and welcoming. We had a suite which had two bedrooms, one with a king bed and the other, two singles, a kitchen and living room and a bathroom. Our suite had been recently redecorated and was clean, fresh and spacious. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your time taken to leave your comments regarding our friendly staff and clean and comfortable rooms. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel in the first and last night of our trip to the south island...the rooms were neat and clean..the staff was very good...the locality was very nice...the place was in the heart of the city and accessible to malls and restaurants nearby...

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vikkyhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding our neat and clean rooms, friendly staff and convenient location. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel was chosen by our travel agent.Location is very good.In our 2 night stay,we also experienced the "fishbowl effect on the 1st floor.Staff were pleasant.There is a notice in the room stating"do not leave windows or doors open",so we did not and each morning we had heavy condensation running down the glass door and windows. By the time we vacated our room to catch our plane home,both of us had head colds.The bedding also smelt of dirty feet and the room smelt damp.

Room Tip: I am unable to make a suggestion as to how you would choose a good room without first experiencing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize we did not meet your expectations but take heart that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. The security notice on the door is for when leaving the room to remind you to lock your windows and doors to keep your belongings safe. Guests are more than welcome to open windows when in the room. We apologize for any discomfort caused because of the confusion regarding this. Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish all the best on your onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christchurch City Park Motel
Christchurch City Park Motel
#91 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#62 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#82 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
123 Motel
123 Motel
#116 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Towers on the Park
Towers on the Park
#27 of 132 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Property: The Ashley Hotel
Address: 106 Mandeville St, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is a newly refurbished, 45-room hotel that delivers a charming, relaxed and convenient experience. The Ashley Hotel is located in Riccarton, within walking distance of Hagley Park, shopping malls, dozens of restaurants and cafés, Christchurch Hospital, the train station and plenty of other Christchurch attractions. We offer several different Christchurch hotel room types, perfect whether you are visiting for business, holiday or as part of a group. For your convenience, The Ashley Hotel also has disabled facilities. Whatever your reason for visiting Christchurch, enjoy it in comfort and style at The Ashley Hotel Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing