We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy serviced apartment accommodation”
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #15 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed here four 4 nights in a 2 bed apartment with 4 adults.
This is a no frills but clean and comfortable serviced apartment operation. Modern furnishings( think Ikea.) The lounge and dining area was large and there was a full kitchen,also a small laundry with washer dryer.

My dislikes were a noisy fridge, only one small bathroom and no air conditioning. The bedrooms have a strange set up where they have no external windows but have a strip window into the living area. They are also quite small.

The front desk staff were friendly and there is free Internet access in the foyer. Also parking is available for $10 per day

Overall a comfortable clean and well located property but nothing to write home about

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2008

Having been travelling now for 3 months we have seen a huge mix of excellent, good & bad. These Quest apts really did score in the excellent category for us. We stayed for 3 nights in January & would return there without hesitation. The rooms are very clean, functional & well looked after. The little extras they provide (ie washing powder, washing up liquid etc) were much appreciated & something that we have found to be missing in alot of places. The reception staff were super friendly & capable ( in comparison to Australia we have really found New Zealand to be much friendlier & customer orientated).

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2007

We had high expectations of Quest Christchurch after reading all the reviews so perhaps we were expecting a bit too much of them, however we really didnt enjoy our stay there.
The location is amazing, right next to the tram stop, centre of christchurch next to the square - perfectly located for tourists.
Internet was very cheap - $40/week which works out to a very reasonable rate if you are staying a few days.
The rooms are clean & functional but not of great quality & are looking a bit older nowadays. The bathroom is once again clean & nicely built for a hotel but very small. The washer/dryer combo was fantastic after travelling around with a suitcase of dirty clothes & i think they provided washing powder which many other places dont.
The breakfast is really nothing much - a few slices of bread in a glad bag, butter & jams & some milk/OJ - but it is lovely to have fresh milk.
Our first room (12A) was on the first floor & the noise of the tram, and the noise of people above us kept us up for 2 nights straight. We requested a transfer for the third night which wasted most of the day constantly popping back in to see if the new room was ready (my favourite reception quote ' the last people left it really dirty so housekeeping have a lot of work to do' - not what you want to hear as a guest!). The next room was an improvement in terms of less noise.
All the receptionists seem quite young & inexperienced (although to be fair all over NZ & Aust there is lack of available staff) but were friendly & got the job done.
The aforementioned bathroom fan that turns off 1 min after the lights drove us mad like everyone else!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lauren&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

Booked this based on other trip advisor recommendations and was not disappointed.

We had one bedroom apartment which was clean, well maintained and spacious, and serviced daily. Excellent facilities including its own washing machine/dryer.

Also an excellent location for central Christchurch , right by the Cathedral and Tram station.

Reception were very helpful - and we were even able to check in when we arrived at 10.30am.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistapike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

Situated virtually on Cathedral Square, Quest Apartments are very close to the centre of everything in Christchurch. We stayed there for several nights at the end of October 2007. The apartments are very large and spacious and fully furnished with good quality fittments. There are full cooking facilities and should you decided to eat out there are many restaurants within easy walking distance. As has been previously mentioned there is some building work taking place near to the apartments, but that didn't bother us at all. The trams run through the Atrium which divides the apartments, but they don't run until 9 am and finish at 9 pm so should not cause any problems generally. The cost of parking in the underground car park is $10 NZ per day, which I thought to be very reasonable, like many hotels and apartments the cost of broadband laptop connection in your room is very expensive together with a tiny cap on the data, although there is a free computer in reception for collecting and sending email. I went to the little shop just inside the Atrium which is run by an Asian couple who were most accommodating and let me hook up my laptop to their system for 4 dollars an hour. Much better – I don't know why the big people should charge such exorbitant prices for this facility, perhaps if we all start complaining they may review their policies.
Having said all that, I still think the Quest Apartments are very good quality and value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank poppajoe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Spent 3 nights at the Quest in a 1 bedroom apartment at the start of a 2 week self guided trip of the South Island.

As the hotel does not have a 24hr front desk and we were arriving late in the evening, arrangements were made to be collected at the airport by a taxi service who would have the room keys and entry instructions. This worked very smoothly as the taxi driver was obviously quite familiar with this arrangement.

The location in the heart of the city was perfect and we were able to walk to most places of interest. Also, a free "yellow" bus operated frequently on a regular route around the city and passed close by to the Quest. This was very useful to get a good feel for the layout of the city. And of course it stops right in front of the Casino and stands there for quite a few minutes to tempt you to hop off and try your luck! A "tourist" tram also operates from beside the apartment building taking the patrons on a guided tour of the city.

Our apartment was all that we expected. We have used Quest apartments on a number of occasions in Australia and have always found them to be very comfortable and good value. While there was just the 2 of us, we do prefer the greater spaciousness of a 1 bedroom apartment over a standard hotel room. Furnishings were fairly basic but quite adequate. The kitchen was well equipped if you wanted to self cater and even included a dishwasher. Cutlery, glasses and crockery were plentiful.
The bathroom was spacious with a good shower facility with good water pressure. The only negatives, and they are only minor ones, is that our bedroom was windowless, and the bathroom fan is connected to the light switch and continues for at least another 30 seconds after turning off the light.

Undercover, secure parking was also available when we collected our rental car. The cost was minimal for a CBD location.

The apartments do not have a restaurant facility for breakfast but provide basic continental provisions in the room which are replenished daily. This includes cereal, milk, juice, bread and spreads. There are also cafes just outside the front door if you prefer something more substantial.

The front desk staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful.
They were particularly helpful in locating BYO restaurants which extended to making phone calls to enquire on our behalf. This was very much appreciated and we ended up in an excellent restaurant which was also on the "yellow bus" route.

We were travelling with another couple, who also had a 1 bedroom apartment . At the end of our stay we all agreed that the Quest was a good choice and we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank wagtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

Loved the position,right in tourist strip,close to bus es,near tourist centre,free shuttle bus.
Apartments gave us free upgrade from studio to i bedroom.
It was one of the cleanest units,with dish washer and washing machine and drier in unit.
All the utensils were spotless,clean pots ,glasses dishes etc,daily room service,each day we had toiletres replaced also bread ceral juice milk tea coffe replaced for breakfast.
Our apartment overlooked the glass atrium from where the tourist tram left ,also lots of bistro,coffee shops.
As n older person,I found it quite easy to get around on foot to many of the pretty tourist spots.
The gift shops had a good range of souviners,but look around as prices vary as much as 10 dollars on some items.
A bus for 30 dollars or 25 if a senior departs from visitors centre to Araroka a pretty french village ,also calls at Barrys cheese factory,the wine sold there can be purchased for less in araroka.
The casino in christchurch can be accessed by the free council shuttle bus,departs close to the quest apartments,and stops directly in front of casino.
It pays to become a member for free,which gives discount etc on meals,a buffet lunch 22 dollars is 17 with the players card,also in the visitors book there was a two for one so two could eat in this great restuarant for 22 dollars.
I found the people and staff in new zealand very friendly and helpful,at the quest nothing was too much trouble,the sheets and towels were snowy white.
In the foyer there was freeinternet access,you need a card to use a pay phone.
Would recomend any one to stay at quest the rooms we had were the quitest rooms we have ever stayed at.
Don't bother buying the new zealand discount card,cost 20 dollars,no one would take it.
All in all great accomadation great food,good flight with pacific blue.A great trip.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank merlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £68 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Christchurch 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing