We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gray and drab”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gray and drab”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2008

After reading all the good reviews on here, we were very disappointed with the Quest! While we couldn't fault the location or the service, the room itself was very ordinary. Perhaps it was because we had stayed in such fantastic accommodation our whole trip, but it seemed that they could definitely do better.

The best way I could describe the room is gray, drab and depressing! The bathroom was very small and awkward, the kitchenette was very sparingly stocked, and the room was very plain. They honestly need add a splash of color, and perhaps update the furnishings. Also, I wouldn't get too excited about the continental breakfast they stock, unless you enjoy kids sugary cereals and white bread for breakfast.

One thing that really drove us crazy was the number of doors we had to unlock to get into our room... I think it was about 3!

The hotel will do the job if you're just passing through Christchurch but if you're there for a few nights, I would look somewhere else. Nothing exactly wrong, but nothing exactly right either.

  • Liked — The location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The very ordinary room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carousel266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    180
    63
    7
    9
See reviews for
90
173
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PERTH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

My recent stay at Quest, Christchurch was wonderful. Unit was large, very comfortable and in a great location. The Manager, Ken, bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. Highly recommended!
Kay - Dianella - Western Australia

  • Liked — COMFORTABLE AND SPACIOUS
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARALUNDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed here four 4 nights in a 2 bed apartment with 4 adults.
This is a no frills but clean and comfortable serviced apartment operation. Modern furnishings( think Ikea.) The lounge and dining area was large and there was a full kitchen,also a small laundry with washer dryer.

My dislikes were a noisy fridge, only one small bathroom and no air conditioning. The bedrooms have a strange set up where they have no external windows but have a strip window into the living area. They are also quite small.

The front desk staff were friendly and there is free Internet access in the foyer. Also parking is available for $10 per day

Overall a comfortable clean and well located property but nothing to write home about

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

Having been travelling now for 3 months we have seen a huge mix of excellent, good & bad. These Quest apts really did score in the excellent category for us. We stayed for 3 nights in January & would return there without hesitation. The rooms are very clean, functional & well looked after. The little extras they provide (ie washing powder, washing up liquid etc) were much appreciated & something that we have found to be missing in alot of places. The reception staff were super friendly & capable ( in comparison to Australia we have really found New Zealand to be much friendlier & customer orientated).

  • Liked — Value, location & really good value in room internet connection
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2007

We had high expectations of Quest Christchurch after reading all the reviews so perhaps we were expecting a bit too much of them, however we really didnt enjoy our stay there.
The location is amazing, right next to the tram stop, centre of christchurch next to the square - perfectly located for tourists.
Internet was very cheap - $40/week which works out to a very reasonable rate if you are staying a few days.
The rooms are clean & functional but not of great quality & are looking a bit older nowadays. The bathroom is once again clean & nicely built for a hotel but very small. The washer/dryer combo was fantastic after travelling around with a suitcase of dirty clothes & i think they provided washing powder which many other places dont.
The breakfast is really nothing much - a few slices of bread in a glad bag, butter & jams & some milk/OJ - but it is lovely to have fresh milk.
Our first room (12A) was on the first floor & the noise of the tram, and the noise of people above us kept us up for 2 nights straight. We requested a transfer for the third night which wasted most of the day constantly popping back in to see if the new room was ready (my favourite reception quote ' the last people left it really dirty so housekeeping have a lot of work to do' - not what you want to hear as a guest!). The next room was an improvement in terms of less noise.
All the receptionists seem quite young & inexperienced (although to be fair all over NZ & Aust there is lack of available staff) but were friendly & got the job done.
The aforementioned bathroom fan that turns off 1 min after the lights drove us mad like everyone else!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2007

Booked this based on other trip advisor recommendations and was not disappointed.

We had one bedroom apartment which was clean, well maintained and spacious, and serviced daily. Excellent facilities including its own washing machine/dryer.

Also an excellent location for central Christchurch , right by the Cathedral and Tram station.

Reception were very helpful - and we were even able to check in when we arrived at 10.30am.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistapike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

Situated virtually on Cathedral Square, Quest Apartments are very close to the centre of everything in Christchurch. We stayed there for several nights at the end of October 2007. The apartments are very large and spacious and fully furnished with good quality fittments. There are full cooking facilities and should you decided to eat out there are many restaurants within easy walking distance. As has been previously mentioned there is some building work taking place near to the apartments, but that didn't bother us at all. The trams run through the Atrium which divides the apartments, but they don't run until 9 am and finish at 9 pm so should not cause any problems generally. The cost of parking in the underground car park is $10 NZ per day, which I thought to be very reasonable, like many hotels and apartments the cost of broadband laptop connection in your room is very expensive together with a tiny cap on the data, although there is a free computer in reception for collecting and sending email. I went to the little shop just inside the Atrium which is run by an Asian couple who were most accommodating and let me hook up my laptop to their system for 4 dollars an hour. Much better – I don't know why the big people should charge such exorbitant prices for this facility, perhaps if we all start complaining they may review their policies.
Having said all that, I still think the Quest Apartments are very good quality and value for money.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, Closeness to CBD
  • Disliked — Cost of Internet
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank poppajoe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Property: Quest Christchurch
Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing