We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No nonsense, value for money apartments”
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #17 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

These serviced apartments are located close to what was once the centre of a bustling city. The restorations have been completed recently and the apartments feel and smell new. We stayed in a studio which overlooked the atrium through which the Christchurch tram rumbled through. The studio was basic, not over large but had the fundamentals to knock up a snack if needed - fridge, toaster, kettle and microwave. We stayed 2 nights and the towels were replaced and bed re-made after day 1, which was I wasn't expecting. The hotel staff (and residents) really want/need people to return to Christchurch. Over the past 3 years demolition and construction work has taken place and is ongoing - many believe not fast enough. If you are flying in or out of Christchurch airport give the city a visit and if you want no-nonsense value for money stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located behind the touristic tram station within walking distance from the cathedral square and the city centre.

There wasn't anyone in the reception when we arrived late at night for check in but there is a phone right outside their door with direct connection with the hotel staff. So they remotely opened the main door and our keys were there inside ans envelope. Therefore it wasn't an issue at all.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms are large and confortable.

Our only problem was when the lifts stopped working and all the stairs doors were locked. The staff han opened them for us but it could be a major problem in case of an emergency. Also the trolley to carry luggage is usually "parked" in front of the emergency exit door.

Having said that, would like to thank the staff for the great stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiago D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed five nights in Nov 2013 Room was clean Staff could not do enough.Only down fall is that it does not have a restaurant and as it is in the red zone where there is no restaurant bars etc to eat out at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarfeildAK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Had a wonderful, clean, great room right in the centre of Christchurch which is great. Very helpful staff. Wonderful to stay there and would stay there again. Some days we did not need their cleaning service and advised them. Lovely fresh flowers in reception area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwisue86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights and had a great time there. Was looking for a place in cbd to look over the earthquakes was very happy with the Quest. It is well and truly open and we got good value for money. Will be returning in near future.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tupu_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Good size rooms and good value in central Christchurch. All shops walking distance good coffee and shopping in local area. Container shops 5 minites away helpful staff. The tram is next to it as a bonus Would def stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreat851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The room & hotel were fine though sadly we didn't have a great experience.

We arrived from the airport after midnight. We rang the night manager button, they opened the automatic doors for us & we were told to pick up our envelope on the front counter just inside.

It had our names on the front & our room number/ floor Lvl. We proceeded up to our floor only to have the key not work to open the apartment door.

We went back downstairs 'twice' & they physically had to get another night manager up to come downstairs which took 10-15mins. At which time she said there was a letter inside the envelope explaining we weren't situated in the main Quest building, in fact we had to walk out the front door, through the shopping mall's glass doors & in through a side door half way in the shopping precinct to access our building.

This was all VERY confusing & disappointing that it wasn't explained to us verbally upon arriving after midnight or even upon our booking, ESP. that we were 2 single girls on our own expected to walk the street at that hour of the night?!

All in all we didn't get to bed until after 1.30am & I don't think Id stay there again if my plane was scheduled for a late arrival, didn't feel safe until we got to our room FINALLY.

Additionally when we turned the water tap on in the kitchen, as we were SO thirsty by that stage, the water ran a dirty dark brown.

Finally as the Quest is located in the red zone which was affected by the earth quakes it was disconcerting to look out the window & see empty lots where nothing had been rebuilt.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBMau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,986 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £68 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Christchurch 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing