We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had an interconnecting 1 bed and studio for our family of 4. Great idea except that is connects through an additional external door which has a clear glass window In it. this means that if your internal doors are open (which they need to be if you have small children) people walking past in the hallway look straight into the main bedroom. The staff were kind enough to give us some paper and tape for us the cover the window when we asked if there was anything we could do for some privacy. Not much around in this area as very central to earthquake devastation but only a short walk to shopping area. Great Japanese restaurant and good coffee shop downstairs.
Staff were excellent!! Helpful and friendly and a pleasure to deal with.
Room had everything we needed including kitchen with good sized fridge, dishwasher and washing machine and was very spacious for a family.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    174
    62
    7
    9
See reviews for
89
167
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Good location with the food court and tramway downstairs providing a great start to our holiday. Room was clean, would have appreciated a more useful kitchenette but was good for a studio. After-hours check-in was a bit slapdash as no-one was in attendance or came down when called, though Quest are "serviced apartments" not a "hotel" so fair enough. Would stay here again primarily before the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Quest is a great hotel. It's simple comfort and facilities made it as a good location to explore what is left of Christchurch. The hotel sits right near Cathedral Square with big comfortable rooms, plenty of room, and clean and well looked after.

The hotel is basically brand new being rebuilt after the earthquakes.

Having fond memories of Christchurch, the devastation of the city centre is hard to take. The re-start mall with it's shipping containers is novel, and does have a good vibe about it, with some good places to eat. The rest is pretty much a demolition zone, and rebuild site.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingaussie-adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Christchurch. Although the city is going through hard times right now following the earthquake, we enjoyed having an explore and this place was really nice, comfortable, modern and clean. Exactly what you'd want for a comfortable night or two!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

we stayed in a family interconnecting two-bedroom apartment for one night.
this hotel locates at the city central, some hotels and restaurants nearby, and it takes about 15 minutes to walk to the botanic garden and the museum, or to the re-start mall, not very far. the trim station is at the ground floor. and there is a huge parking lot besides the hotel. so I can say the location is excellent.
the hotel is newly furnished and opened, the interior design is quite simple but still very comfortable. the apartment we stayed is a very spacious one-bedroom apartment combining with a pretty nice standard room. it's clean and bright, furniture and kitchen are well-maintained, so are the bathrooms. the fan of the bathroom will automatically open when the lights are turned on, and when the lights off, the fan will turn off later, too.
security is guaranteed. front gate of the hotel will be locked by nine at night, and guests only can open it with their room card, the elevator also needs room card to launch.
staff me met are friendly and helpful. we were locked out in late night, and the duty manager immediately helped us to open the door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here last week
Lovely apartment.- clean and recently refurbished.
Great central location

My issues are reasonably minor
1. Strange that the apartment is not serviced on a Sunday - no drop in price however!
2. Weird arrangement of the hot water system being in what should have been the pantry cupboard in the kitchen - when I tried to open it (the sign saying don't open is at ceiling height!) the panel fell and nearly hit me.
3. 1 hr a day of internet that has to be used continuously is a very very strange arrangement!
4. Advertised as a large double bed - however what we got was two single beds pushed together - in a 1 bedroom apartment a VERY strange arrangement and not very comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The girl who arranged my check in was super friendly and helpful to my questions and to arrange shuttle for me the next day. I guess you would say this should be standard but I didn't have the same experience in the hotels I booked in Auckland or Sydney as part of this journey so it really stood out. Rooms are clean, spacious, modern with good facilities and although it is only 1 hour free WIFI it is still free compared to having to pay everywhere else.
The location is central but be aware that Christchurch is still recovering from the earthquakes of 2011 so the city is among a lot of rubble as they continue to rebuild. It was a little out of my budget as a solo traveler on a budget but everything else in Christchurch appeared to be booked out. I was glad to book there in the end though as it was near the places I wanted to visit which the receptionist kindly advised me how to fine and it was the comfiest bed I slept in in the 14 day round trip by far!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Property: Quest Christchurch
Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing