We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in great location”
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hotel in great location”
Reviewed 28 January 2009

I was quite disappointed in the accommodation, it was a studio but felt like a basic hotel room with no cooking or dishwashing facilities. The room was very clean but small, especially the bathroom.

Travelling as a family of 4 we asked for rooms next to one another, although this was arranged there was infact 4 doors to contend with between us. The accommodation has security in which you need to use the fob on your key in the lifts which is peace of mind but then there is another door (for every 2 rooms) to open before you can get to the door of your own room, this was most frustrating.

On checking out the hotel tried to charge us for car parking but there was no mention of this on booking the accommodation. Included in our accommodation package was breakfast but on the 2nd day they did not leave any cereal in 1 of our rooms and no bread for toast in the other room and although they had been into the rooms, they did not make the beds. We did not find the Reception staff to be very helpful and although they listened to our complaint regarding the housekeeping I would be doubtful if any action would be taken.

The hotel was ideally located within the city and on a high level floor we had no noise. The tram was a great way of getting about the city and although was $15 it covered you for 2 days.

  • Liked — Location was ideal
  • Disliked — Rooms were small, especially bathroom, no cooking or dishwashing facilities
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrodshamDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    182
    64
    7
    9
See reviews for
92
175
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in Dec 2008. The 3- bedroom apartment is really spacious. There are 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms upstair, and 1 toilet, a large living room, 1 dining area and a large kitchen downstair. The balcony only allow views of the Tram station below as well as the rooms in the West wing of the hotel. The master bedroom has views of Manchester St. The checking-in and -out were done efficiently. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. They even provided us with the big trolley car to transfer our many luggages, without us asking for it. The washer/ dryer is easy to use, but like the other places I stayed in, need more rounds of drying before the clothes were sufficiently dried. There are portable heaters provided to warm up the room too. We found them useful as we have 3 rainy /windy days and quite cold temperature for us. The hotel building and lift must be accessed via card taping, which gives us peace of mind in terms of safety. The hotel is centrally located, close to tram station, free shuttle stop, and plenty of fast food, chinese food and western food restaurants. Overall, we were very happy with our stay, and would readily recommend it to others.

  • Liked — The apartment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodlandsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We came to NZ for a couple of weeks and spent our last two nights in Christchurch - we selected the Quest apartment because we wanted to stay somewhere special for the end of our holiday.

I booked the bubbly surprise apartment package. When we arrived I was very disappointed. Instead of an apartment I found a basic hotel room without cooking, washing or dishwashing facilities - this is what they call a studio apartment - styled room- but it is really just a very basic, bland hotel room. I was also really disappointed that the 'bottle' of bubbly turned out to be a 200ml bottle, that wasn't chilled (so we could drink it) but left on the bench. Although technically correct, I found the advertising of the 'studio' apartment and 'bottle' of bubbly to be very misleading.

I went to reception and spoke to a staff member there - he was excellent - he listened to my concerns and arranged for us to be moved to another apartment.

I went back to reception to return the keys from the first room and to check whether car parking was included in my package as I had been handed a note to put on the car that had parking charges, and I had booked an accommodation package that included parking. I spoke with the receptionist and she confirmed that parking was included.

We found the apartment to be clean, spacious and we enjoyed the central location. It is frustrating to have so many doors to open to get in and out, and they have this ridiculous noisy fan in the bathroom that stays on for 10 mins after you turn off the lights. It's quite annoying.

Our stay at Quest Christchurch was soured by the rudeness of a Front Office staff member at the time of checkout. We put our luggage in the car and I went to return the keys. I was asked to pay for car parking. I explained that I thought car parking was included in the package. I was advised that it wasn't included in the package and needed to be paid before I could leave. I explained that I had checked with the receptionist and she confirmed that it was included in the package. The staff member rolled her eyes at me and then made a sarcastic comment like 'well then it is included'. I was stunned by her behaviour, her lack of customer service skills and her lack of basic respect. I wrote to the Manager of Quest Christchurch and haven't heard anything in over a week (other than 'thanks I got your email') . It is a great, central location, but be warying of what you book because I found that all is not as it seems.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff and the misleading advertising
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Quest was the first accomm that we stayed in for our trip. We were there for 2 nights. The studio room is quite small but do-able as we didnt stay in the room very often. Its in an excellent location, very central. Although its in the centre of everything the noise isnt too bad as the windows seem to be double plated. Also have internet for free (in lobby area). Rooms are clean, comfy bed. I would reccommend this hotel for others planning to have a few days in Christchurch. Nice, good hotel. The hotel actually isnt the easiest to find so just keep driving around, parking is in a tiny alleyway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard to find hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2008

We were impressed with our stay at the Quest during our visit to Christchurch.
The location is really convenient and the one bedroom apartment gave us plenty of room to spread out . The bathroom, although compact, was quite adequate and the bed was a lot more comfortable than some that we have slept in.
The kitchen facilities were good and there was a comfortable sofa and chairs to relax in. We liked the fact that the TV swivelled round to face the dining area so that we coukld catch up on the news while we were having our breakfast.
Two minor quibbles are the fairly basic breakfast that is supplied (but knowing about it in advance we brought some fruit and yoghout with us), and the slow internet in the reception area. It is free, but it took ages to do an online check in for our flight back home.
This was our second stay at the Quest. It is a good economical place to stay at and we are looking forward to coming back next time we are in Christchurch.

  • Liked — Right in centre of town, and security was good.
  • Disliked — Small vanity in bathroom.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RobinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed in their 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for two nights in March 2008, and were impressed. The location couldn’t be bettered – right in the city centre, yet easy to get to and with secure parking in the basement. The entrance may not be grand, but once inside, the accommodation is good. The main living area is very generous in size and well furnished. The kitchen and laundry areas have everything you could possibly need, and essential breakfast supplies are provided. We only used two of the three bedrooms, but both were comfortable, of a decent size and with enough storage space. The third bedroom is smaller, but looked adequate. Both bathrooms were fine, and everything was spotlessly clean. At $351 per night plus $12 for car parking, for such a central location we felt it was good value for 4 people and would have been excellent value for 6. If we were visiting Christchurch again, we would have no hesitation in going back.

Four points to note. First, the penthouse apartment is on two floors and the bedrooms are upstairs with no lift, so be prepared to carry your suitcases up. Second, the bathrooms are on the same floor as the bedrooms but are not strictly en suite, as claimed on their web site. Further, there is only one toilet on this floor (in one of the bathrooms), but there is a second toilet downstairs. Third, there are balconies on both floors, but don’t expect too much of the views! Finally, our comments apply to the penthouse suite. We are not able to say whether the other rooms are equally good.

  • Liked — Location, spaciousness
  • Disliked — Poky entrance
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank P_and_T_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This property is great in terms of the location - right in the heart of Cathedral Square. Easy to hop on/off the tram and also to walk to most of the main sights. Found the bed to be extremely uncomfortable however and it was very noisy with the tram starting up at around 7am right outside our room. You also get a lot of noise with doors opening and closing from neighbouring rooms. Not that great if you want a good comfortable and peaceful sleep (especially after arriving off a late night flight). Staff are helpful and there is a free internet service in the reception area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Property: Quest Christchurch
Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing