We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed”
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quest Christchurch
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed 30 April 2010

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a balcony for two nights and was pleasantly surprised with how comfortable the room was. This self-contained kitchen and laundry was a real plus and I was able to have 3 friends around for a small dinner party before we headed out for a night on the town. The location of this hotel is great...it sits very handily behind the Christchurch Cathedral Square and is adjacent to an atrium that also doubles as a Tram pick-up and drop-off point. I am a good sleeper so I didnt really notice the early morning Tram movements as mentioned in many other reviews despite only being on the 3rd floor and my balcony looking directly over the atrium. I didnt even mind the number of doors you had to unlock to access your room! I think as a paranoid, security conscious traveller I found that aspect quite comforting. The bathroom was sparkly clean and the water pressure in the shower was great! The service was fantastic and the receptionist informed me when I checked in that due to it being ANZAC weekend my room would not be serviced on the sunday so she provided me with extra towels and soaps etc. I have not had positive historical experiences with Quest hotel apartments in other parts of the country so this was a refreshing experience and I will definitely go back again if the price remains as reasonable as it was at that time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QJB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    182
    64
    7
    9
See reviews for
92
176
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Trying to figure this place out is rather like Alice down the rabbit hole. Reception is in one place, you find an alley half a block away to park your car and your room is above the separate annex which is actually a glass ceilinged edifice through which the city trams run. Your entrance to your elevator is a partly hidden door just past the tram shop in the annex. On Saturday night a tram with a restaurant on board stopped right below our room in the annex and all aboard enjoyed a jolly good time.
On the positive side this hotel couldn't be more central being almost literally in Cathedral Square. And, despite the first paragraph, the hotel was pretty darn good. An apartment hotel, we had lots of room, a good size kitchen and all the usual amenities. When we couldn't face another big dinner out we were quite able to prepare something modest in our room. We took the free bus down to the supermarket to get provisions. We were able to get caught up on the washing and ironing. The hotel is very well located for many of the city's restaurants and attractions. We were comfortable, not too disturbed by the downtown noise and generally pleased with the Quest. It was a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat Victoria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

The Quest was our first spot to stay in the South Island. We were a little apprehensive after staying in Rotorua and Wellington but the Quest Christchurch came shining through! Thanks to Kirk, the receptionist for her over and above customer service. We were the recipients of a fantastic night sleep, great bed, huge lounge, and QUIET!! Amazing given that we were in the central hub of Christchurch. Facilities great, space!!!! what a change, service with a smile! So much so....our last night on the South Island has been re-booked here. Would absolutely recommend for a a quiet and restful night sleep, huge balcony (a balcony is a must for us). Large room so you are not tripping over each other or cases in the middle of the night that are at the foot of your bed. Want central city - quiet and spacious? This is the one!!! Big 5 tick from us...!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix1442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Like some other reviewers,we booked an "apartment" here and were really disappointed with the room. Expectations were set that there would be a kitchenette but what we got was a fairly basic hotel room with a kettle and fridge so self-catering is not really an option. Worse though was the night's sleep we got and the service we have subsequently received. Yes, the hotel is in a great central location but the rooms overlook the tramline and a construction site so we didn't sleep well as there is ZERO soundproofing. When we mentioned this at reception the next day, they said it shouldn't matter because the trams only run 8am to 10pm...they had no answer to the fact that construction started at 6.30am!! We asked for a discount but because we had pre-paid this couldn't be given without the manager (who was not around). The receptionist waived our car parking fee and gave us the manager's email details to make a further complaint/ request for refund. We sent an email a day or two later and nearly a month later are still awaiting a reply. In the Trip Advisor era I'm surprised that a hotel manager could care so little about a bad experience and will definitely not be going back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apt for a week. Great to have a fully serviced apartment with all facilities - tons of room for two of us. You could not get a better location. Brilliant - so close to EVERYTHING. Perfect. Staff were terrific - nothing too much trouble, but not available 24 hours. Apartments are located either side of an atrium over the tram depot, but the tram is very noisy & you hear it every time it comes through from 9am to 9pm. Also, for some weird reason, they pipe music into the atrium 24 hours. So you can hear it in the middle of the night. However, I would definitely stay there again. I could not find any comparable apartments so central. The other apartments I found were quite a distance away & cost much more. TIP: book directly on their website for the best price and they also give you frequest flyer points! We used the free shuttle bus heaps too - bus stop quite close. The local bus service is cheap & fantastic too.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AALtravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Great location in Christchurch, tram line runs straight under the hotel and only a 2 mins walk to the centre of Cathedral Square. Nice rooms we had a 3 bedroom apartment that was massive with great views of Christchurch and the distant mountains. Only complaint we booked breakfast and then they stop offering it so we had to fight on the first day to get breakfast but no problems once they figured out what had happened.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ben88neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

QUEST CHRISTCHURCH offers aprtment accommodation in large and comfortable rooms, serviced daily, and providing a simple breakfast (cereal + toast + orange juice). They are right in the centre of the city, just 3 minutes from the Cathedral and right next to the atrium (Cathedral Junction) where the trams stop and start. There are plenty of restaurants within an easy walk, and it's effectively right in the main shopping area. The staff are friendly and helpful, and for travellers who don't want the fuss of an hotel this is an ideal choice for a visit to Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Property: Quest Christchurch
Address: 113 Worcester Street | Cathedral Junction, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing