We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel on Latimer Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This pristine new hotel is in the red zone, near the cardboard cathedral and close to the humbling rebuild. The rooms are spacious and well laid out, the facilities comfortable. The in house bar and eatery Bloody Marys has a great menu so is worth a visit too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for your review Sandy, we love being new and even more so being 'pristine' and new! Thanks for giving Bloody Mary's a shout out too, we're glad you had the chance to dine with us during your stay.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Everything was very clean & bright as the hotel had only been opened 7 weeks before we arrived. Unfortunately, the Gym and Sauna were still unfinished so could not use them. The room was modern and comfortable and was fair value for what we paid. Well located a short walk away from what is left of the centre of Christchurch. Friendly staff and a good bar/restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthDave_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for your review Dave. Now that we have our own construction out of the way, we are looking very forward to watching and supporting the rest of Christchurch as it is rebuilt. Your right, the hotel is in a good location, access to the city centre is convenient, but positioned just right that we won't expect a whole lot of noise and inconvenience as CBD construction rolls on.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This brand new hotel has been rebuilt in the heart of the city after the devastating earthquake three years ago. It's central location is ideal for exploring the city as it continues to slowly rebuild. The hotel is smart modern and is quite spacious. Good parking is available. The hotel is highly functional and is clearly aimed at attracting business use as well as short stay tourists. The staff were very friendly and efficient and keep the hotel very clean. Breakfast was good standard self serve buffet style. Only complaint was they were a bit overwhelmed for coffee orders on the first morning. A gym is advertised but I was told it is not functional yet. Rooms are a good size with usual amenities including free wifi, although perhaps the bathroom was a bit on the small size for two people. The view we had was of the hills in the distance but with empty buildings waiting to be rebuilt in the foreground. Your heart goes out to the devastation suffered by such a lovely city. You can only wish them well as they do their best to recover. Hotel prices are rising in the city according to the local newspaper and overall they are more expensive on average compared to other cities in NZ.

Room Tip: The rooms were good rather than very good or average
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. The biggest benefit of building a hotel from the ground up is being able to address all the little things that may or may not have worked in the past. Its great to hear you, as our one of valued guests felt we got it right.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our travel agent told us Rydges Latimer was a 4 star hotel so we were expecting more than the plain room décor and the cramped bathroom. Our experience of room service was poor. We ordered orange juice on our first night. It didn't arrive for 45 mins although the staff member was lovely and she had brought us two glasses, no charge, to compensate. There were no English Breakfast Tea Bags, even on the day after we pointed it out. We bought our own. The salmon gravlax meals in the bar on our first night were disappointing and while our waitress was charming she was run off her feet. Our meal in the restaurant on the Friday night was superb, First Class, with excellent staff and lovely ambience. Overall we thought the Rydges experience was saved by their lovely staff but more of them are needed because they appear rushed off their feet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Latimer Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thanks for your feedback Margaret. Its terrific that you found the staff to be the saving grace but at the same time, a little more attention to detail from some of our team and your stay could have been much better.
We'll discuss your points with our team to ensure a quick improvement in each of the areas. I am sorry that a few smaller issues added up to what I agree, sounded like an average stay.
Regards,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed in Christchurch at the beginning and end of our train/driving vacation around the South Island and stayed at Rydges a total of 2 nights. The hotel is brand new and so everything is very clean and very modern. We found it very easy to walk from the hotel to the Botanic Gardens/Hagley Park and to downtown restaurants. It's also pretty close (walking distance) to Pomeroys - a pub that, with good reason, gets high ratings on Trip Advisor (separate review on that!) The staff were happy to book reservations for us and were very helpful with directions and suggestions of where to dine. Internet was free in the lobby (for 2 hours) and available in the room for a nominal charge. Christchurch itself is a little desolate - the reconstruction is expected to take over a decade and many building that have been condemned are still not torn down. You can tell that the downtown was probably a lot more bustling before the earthquake. I am not sure where you would stay if you wanted a little more action but in terms of access to downtown Christchurch, the Rydges worked out great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison_722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks for your feedback. Hopefully your experience here at the hotel (and at one of our staff's favourite watering holes) over shadows some of the more bleak aspects of Christchurch you came across. Having said that, the rebuild is well underway and it is the support of visitors such as yourselves which our city needs to fast track the revival. So thank you for visiting and hopefully we will see you again in the future to check on progress. These are exciting times!
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked this hotel before it had even opened and stayed early December 2013 in a deluxe king room. We joined the membership programme and got a discount on a package including free wi-fi, a voucher to spend on dinner in the hotel and breakfast in the morning.

The hotel wasn’t fully open but this did not spoil our stay. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. They also accommodated our request for a late check-out.

The room was very big, modern and clean. The bathroom was also lovely and spacious, clean and bright. There were plenty of amenities from the hairdryer, toiletries, iron and board to the well-stocked mini-bar. The bed was huge and very comfy and the whole room felt luxurious.

The fact that this hotel is brand new meant that everything was new and in perfect condition. We couldn’t ask for a better way to finish off our holiday in New Zealand.

We ate in the newly opened restaurant – Bloody Mary’s. This was a fantastic dining experience. The service and the food was faultless and we can’t rate it highly enough. Breakfast the following morning in the restaurant was also excellent and there was plenty of choice.

We would definitely recommend a stay here for anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your positive comments Matthew. We certainly did have a little way to go back in December but its great to hear you were not inconvenienced. We're very pleased to report that aside from a few tweaks in the Penthouse, the hotel is fully operational.
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Hopefully we will see you again soon so you can experience the finished product.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A newly built hotel in a central but quiet area of Christchurch. We stayed here over a week waiting for a delayed ship. All food that came out of the kitchen (dinner, snacks and breakfast) was cooked to perfection, crisp fresh and delicious. The restaurant was normally fully occupied by locals, which shows that we were not alone in our high grades of the kitchen. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and we were never disturbed by any noice from streets or neighbours. I normally do not sleep well in hotels, but here I slep like a log every single night despite the jetlag. We felt safe, pampered and warmly welcomed. The price was very reasonable considering the fine quality.

Room Tip: All rooms appears to have similar standard, everybody was equally happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awahlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Quiet room, slept like a log, great food, sounds like a perfect stay! Thank you for such a kind review, we're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Latimer Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Latimer Christchurch

Address: 30 Latimer Square, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £100 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Latimer Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Latimer Christchurch overlooks scenic Latimer Square, in the heart of the city. Newly built 100% compliant to new building standards and opened in 2013 this 4.5 star hotel is five levels high and offers 138 accommodation rooms spread over the first four floors. The fifth floor boasts a penthouse apartment with breathtaking views stretching from the Port Hills to the Southern Alps. Premier conference and event facilities with 11 flexible spaces housing up to 500 delegates. All spaces are flooded with natural light, integrated audio visual equipment, exceptional menu options and a dedicated team of conference professionals is on had to assist in the planning and facilitation. Located on the ground floor is Bloody Mary's Bar-Lounge-Grill, a premium steakhouse featuring some of the finest locally sourced ingredients from right here in Canterbury. New York steakhouse meets Kiwi hospitality for a true beef lover’s dream. You will be eager to ‘steak’ your claim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Latimer Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing