We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just spent two nights at The Rydges on Latimer Square, where we found the staff friendly, very efficient and all working hard to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. bedrooms were a comfortable size, very clean with very nice beds. Only criticism - for some reason there is no where to place your bags except on the floor, which was surprising.
The included breakfast was the best I have seen in a very long time with a wide range of choices, something to suit everyone and cooked food was kept fresh and appetising.
Top marks! Except for the lack of bag stands...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your comments Jim, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the positive remarks about the team, they really are great motivation. The bottom of the robe can be used for bag storage. You right though it will only fit one. We'll consider some other options in the near future.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Rydges Latimer Square is a brand new hotel in Christchurch. Everything looks extremely new, nice and clean. We arrived at 2 am (our flight was delayed) and there were two members of the staff at the front desk waiting for us. They were really really helpful and friendly. The hotel offers complimentary WiFi in all the areas, rooms included. The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the Cathedral, in a quiet area of Christchurch. The rooms was extremely neat, big comfy bed, everything was new! Definitely I would stay here again when traveling to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edanherg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

You've certainly highlighted 3 key reasons for staying at the new Rydges Latimer, Quiet location, comfy beds and free WIFI! Hopefully we will see you again, thanks for your review.
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Rydges Latimer last night for our Wedding Anniversary. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was large with a comfy bed and modern and pleasant decor with everything that you would need for a short stay. The bathroom was smaller but was adequate for 2 people with a great shower. We were treated like Royalty with a Complimentary Upgrade and a bottle of Champagne on ice waiting in our room when we arrived. We dined in the Restaurant Bloody Mary's and had a beautiful meal with great service and a knowledgeable waiter my husband had the Wakanui eye fillet and said it was the best steak he had ever had. We were also very lucky to have the excellent buffet breakfast which was one of the best that we had experienced. Overall a great stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaP2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thanks for your kind review and congratulations again on your anniversary. I'll share your comments with the team, it's great to hear you enjoyed the complete Rydges Latimer and Bloody Mary's experience. Hopefully we will see you again next year if not before!
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at Rydges one Saturday night while attending a meeting there during the day. Hotel staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. Room was large, very comfortable bed. Had an excellent breakfast next morning. Food was tasty and top quality. Also had lunch during the meeting, again food was excellent. Overal, superb stay and definitely my choice of hotel in Christchurch in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for your comments Rob. We think the key to any successful conference is great food! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stay here from time to time when passing through Christchurch and the rooms are simple with everything you need and perfectly comfortable. Fit for purpose. The breakfast buffet is by and large the best I have ever experienced in my life anywhere in the world. It is stand out!! Worth staying just for the breakfast - we will be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahD142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We love hearing from our breakfast fans, we've developed quite the reputation! Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again shortly.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It is no secret that I <3 Christchurch! I paid another visit recently to catchup with the wonderful spirit of the people and the opportunity to have a tour around. The square is open, the tram is running, the weather was sunny, people very helpful, food delicious. Staying within walking distance of the 'heart' of Christchurch was bitter sweet. This hotel is NEW and the service fantastic. Bloody Mary's restaurant was convienent had had everything needed for a healthy hearty meal. Would not hesitate to go back here again. Very comfortable beds, fresh quiet room, all the mod cons :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixieW484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We agree with you on all points! Christchurch is back open for business and and being apart of the re-build of this great city in the coming years is going to be exciting to say the least!
See you again soon,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed 1 night whilevisiting ChCh withy young son & his friend. Being in the accommodation business in Akaroa we are heartened by the opening of Rydges as a signal to the return of quality in our region. The complex is obviously new, well appointed and well serviced. A bonus in comparison to nearby hotels in the great car parking available. We enjoyed an afternoon drink in the bar and the service was fabulous! Unfortunately we had to check out very early so missed the buffet breakfast but we will be back ( next time with hubby) & we will most certainly be recommending to our guests.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank LaRochelleMotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for your review and for the kind offer to recommend us. Our team love sneaking over to Akaroa and regularly recommend the experience to our guests. We'll be sure to let them know about La Rochelle!
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
2,113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,449 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Latimer Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Latimer Christchurch

Address: 30 Latimer Square, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £101 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Latimer Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Latimer Christchurch overlooks scenic Latimer Square, in the heart of the city. Newly built 100% compliant to new building standards and opened in 2013 this 4.5 star hotel is five levels high and offers 138 accommodation rooms spread over the first four floors. The fifth floor boasts a penthouse apartment with breathtaking views stretching from the Port Hills to the Southern Alps. Premier conference and event facilities with 11 flexible spaces housing up to 500 delegates. All spaces are flooded with natural light, integrated audio visual equipment, exceptional menu options and a dedicated team of conference professionals is on had to assist in the planning and facilitation. Located on the ground floor is Bloody Mary's Bar-Lounge-Grill, a premium steakhouse featuring some of the finest locally sourced ingredients from right here in Canterbury. New York steakhouse meets Kiwi hospitality for a true beef lover’s dream. You will be eager to ‘steak’ your claim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Latimer Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing