We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague. Since the earthquake, I wasn't too sure where to stay in terms of safety and proximity to the CBD. In Rydges, you can definitely feel 100% safe and comfortable. There was even a bit of a shake that night but I slept through it! The reviews from other trip advisor comments were pretty much on point - great breakfast variety, friendly professional staff, plenty of parking, new foyer, comfortably-sized rooms and nice gym. We didn't stay in a room with a bathtub. Shower was spacious. Heat pump was great considering it was -3 outside. Apart from the on-site restaurant Bloody Mary, the hotel is a little bit of a walk from other cafes, restaurants or nightlife. But it's just around the corner from the cardboard cathedral. I would definitely recommend staying here and I'll stay here every time I visit Christchurch.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Klougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Sounds like we owe your work colleague a big thank you and of course yourself for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Christchurch.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    257
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
88
272
24
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Ok, so it benefits from being new and shiny at the moment - but it does that REALLY well...
All of the public spaces are well sized with a nice plenty of upmarket meets casual Kiwi service.
The rooms are a good size and the well equipped gym was empty except for me on both visits.
Not only this, but the bar/restaurant is also reasonably priced for decent food.
It's easy to get to and from despite it's centre city location - and OK - most of the view towards the centre is currently bare land or part demolished buildings... but we know things will develop.
A great addition to the ChCH accommodation options

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for the kind review. We certainly pride ourselves on offering good value for our guests. Selling a nice shiny new hotel can be easy to begin with but its the service and experience that will keep guests coming back. Its great to hear we are on the right track.
Thanks again,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel overnight as we made our way up the east coast and to call in on family.

The room was new, clean and comfortable with lovely big windows and a balcony that looked out to the hills. The bathroom was clean and functional but seemed relatively small compared to the size of the room itself. A minor gripe, really.

It was quiet the bed was fantastic and we enjoyed a good night's sleep.

The hotel offered ample parking downstairs that was close to the hotel entrance with no steps making getting luggage in and out nice and easy.

There was a restaurant at the hotel, but we went off to look through the city and get breakfast. It's quite a walk from the hotel into what I consider the main area of Christchurch (Ballantynes/container mall) but I think we made it longer for ourselves as we don't know the city that well (especially post-quake) and got a bit turned around.

I would happily book to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattkattkatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for your review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The good thing about the Hotel location is that there won't be to many noise issues once the rebuild kicks into high gear. It is a 10 minute walk to re:start and well worth it to see where progress is and more importantly how much progress there has been a few years down the track.
We look forward to seeing you again,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Pros:
- Free wifi
- Good breakfast
- Clean

Cons:
- Very small bathroom
- Area is far from central Christchurch with construction sites around it from the earthquake
- Hotel seems old in terms of style and condition

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Its certainly nice to 'probably be one of the best Hotels in Christchurch' but disappointing to fall in the poor category at the same time.
Your pro's are certainly well received by the majority of our guests, thank you.
Your con's- if the Christchurch City centre was a landmark, generally it would be recognised as cathedral square. We are 400m from the Square. Another CBD place of interest could be restart mall. That is 800m away.
There is significant construction going on in Christchurch at the moment and likley to be for some years to come. Fortunately for Rydges Latimer we over look the ever green Latimer Square on the Eastern frame, new parkland founded as part of the new CBD Masterplan. Unfortunately for our competitors, they are located in the construction zone. If your after a quiet nights sleep and can handle a short walk to the action, we are the best of the bunch.
We appreciate your comments on style. As far as condition, the hotel opened in November of last year so a little surprised there but again, we'll definitely take your comments on board.
Regards,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Fantastic room and service. was really great with good access and good food. Definitely one of my preferred hotels for Christchurch right now. I would also rank this hotel as one of the better Rydges hotels I have stayed at around Australia and New Zealand.

Room Tip: 4th floor upgraded king room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LP-AccountMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
There's noting like being the new kid on the block and we are certainly making the most of it. Thanks for your review. I will pass your comments on to the team as well, we're certainly a competitive bunch when it comes to our sister hotels!
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed overnight here and loved it. Beautiful room with a comfortable bed, amazing food in the restaurant, and great location. The staff were very helpful and went the extra mile to be friendly and obliging. We had a 3 course dinner in the restaurant which exceeding all our expectations.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
One of our Rydges core values is to 'exceed guest expectations' so it really is quite rewarding to receive your comments and know we are on the right track. Thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent a couple of nights at the Rydges last month and it was a very good stay.

We arrived around 8pm after flying down from Auckland, when they checked us in we were upgraded to a city\port hills view at no extra cost. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to get to the main areas of the CBD such as Restart mall and most bars\restaurants, but as it is Christchurch it is a flat easy walk everywhere. It is about 100m to the "Cardboard Cathedral".

The room:
Room was spacious, furniture was minimal but sufficient.
The view was out over Latimer Square towards the cbd and the port hills, was nice and the balcony was large enough to sit down.
The mini-bar was well stocked, we didn't partake but it was reasonably priced.
The bathroom was large and luxurious looking, with a giant shower that had good water pressure.

The restaurant had a great sounding menu, unfortunately we didn't get the chance to eat there.


The entire hotel has a very new feeling, everything looks polished and tidy.


I will definitely be staying here again when I come down to Christchurch, hopefully next time I can try out the restaurant.

Room Tip: The rooms with city views were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Fantastic review, well done. Very thorough and you've hit all the points the everyday traveler wants to know about. Location, amenities, pricing, such a bummer you didn't get to dine in Bloody Mary's! Thanks for taking the time to review, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel

Property: Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Address: 30 Latimer Square, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Latimer has 138 stylish appointed Hotel rooms and Suites and is proud to be the first hotel built to be 100% compliant with the new safety codes. Whether you are staying for business or leisure, overlooking tranquil Latimer Square on the city fringe, Rydges Latimer is the ideal hotel and convention location for re-imagining Canterbury. Rydges Latimer features a new Grill & Bar that will change the dining landscape in Christchurch. Dark oak timer and Bluestone feature throughout a sophisticated space of plush leather and rich fabric where the classic becomes contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing