We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central in city good place to stay in Christchurch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very comfy hotel, hotel room was very good, all the amenities. For its next upgrade I recommend a IT panel of plugs for computer, HDMI, apple devices. Staff were very friendly, very helpful. Recommend the full breakfasts at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sunny side. If your room is not available for check in on your arrival, ask the staff t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatimerRelations, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thanks for the feedback and the suggestions for future improvements. We do have HDMI connection from the desk to the TV in all rooms, we are currently looking at other connectivity options to ensure Rydges Latimer moves with the technological times. Great tip on rooms, Premier King or Twin are the best rooms for views across Latimer Square.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

This hotel is very nicely presented, it is in the new modern Rydges design.4

The hotel is in the best location it is slightly out of the city center but is about a 5 to 10 min walk straight to the heart of the city.

We had dinner at the restaurant and the lamb dish for 2 was amazing, some of the best I have ever tasted.

The room was amazing and would certainly come back from Australia to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emperorkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatimerRelations, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks Kevin, great review here and on the Bloody Mary's page. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and of course we would love to see you back in the future. It's a little bit cliched but you really can't beat a braised NZ Lamb leg!
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lunch today at a table in the bar area. Brasserie menu. Soup was OK, nothing special. Not especially hot. Others at our table had fish and chips - which at $26 has got to be one of the biggest rip-offs I've seen in a while. It was served on a massive board with the fish and chips served on "newspaper" on top of that. Very relieved I didn't order this and get a pathetically small serving.

Service was pleasant but painfully, painfully slow. Huge gaps between reappearances of the staff.

Really disappointing and wouldn't bother going back. There are far better places.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank CactusRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thanks for your feedback CactusRose, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience in the Bar. Unfortunately we did experience some slow service periods over the weekend. We were hosting the Word Writers festival and did struggle to keep up with the large influx of people between sessions wanting refreshments and lunch. We did have additional staff on, so it was disappointing we still couldn't keep up.
Regarding the Fish and Chips, we serve 180-200gms per serve and over the weekend it was Gurnard. We buy the fillets fresh and batter them ourselves. We would be in a fair amount of strife if we used Newspaper on our boards, it is a food grade printed wax paper, a little bit of fun to go along with our menu title- Fush and Chups. Thanks again for your review, we'll definitely keep working at it.
Regards,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel room was very nice and matched all the promotional photos on the rydges website. room was spotless and quite roomy (can't recall exact room type but think it was a superior king, had a balcony overlooking the park)

Bathroom was very modern and clean, looked to be in day 1 condition.


No complaints about the food either, had a share platter for dinner at the hotels restaurant (bloody Mary's), very tasty.

I would be happy to stay again, well located and ample free onsite parking

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Chris_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thanks for your review, you've definitely pointed out some of the key features our guests love about Rydges Latimer. We're glad you would stay again and look forward to your return.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Free wifi, beautiful bathroom and comfortable room. Great stay. Big as TV in the room and a new modern building, it looks great both from the outside and inside. Staff friendly and helpful and the bar is cool if you've got friends. We got a deal on the room but great value for money and would stay again at normal prices.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhys1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatimerRelations, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Great review, thanks Rhys, you've hit all the points we think guests will love about staying at Rydges Latimer. And hey, even if you don't have friends for the bar, feel free to pull up a stool and chat with our Bartenders, their pretty cool guys and gals.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Overall very nice and clean room with all you could wish for. Very comfortable bed. The only negative aspect of my stay was the service and quality of food in the Bar/restaurant. My to start off my meal I was served the wrong steak in addition to this, when I sent it back I received another barely warm steak... by the time this came around I was fed up dealing with their incompetent service and just ate it anyway. I would stay there again... I just wouldn't spend my money eating there.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thanks for your feedback Ross, really disappointed to hear about your experience in the Restaurant. Overwhelmingly, feedback has been very good for Bloody Mary's so I'll share your comments with the team. We certainly set a high standard and we are all keen to maintain it. I am glad that you would still be willing to stay with us again, next time we will work harder on the dining side of things.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel was booked for me during a business trip. I was pleasantly surprised as I was expecting something less glamorous but soon discovered it was a new building with good rooms incl quiet and efficient rev cycle air con, nice bathroom with good size shower and nice fittings, large flat screen TV, full mini bar & snacks, electronic Do Not Disturb & Make Up My Room indicators, comfortable Queen Size bed and decent breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking a back street which was relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61LouReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydgesLatimer, General Manager at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Great to hear you were pleasantly surprised. There is still some concern about the state of Christchurch, reviews such as yours will definitely help to spread the word that we are back open for business.
Thanks for your feedback,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Latimer Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Latimer Christchurch

Address: 30 Latimer Square, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £80 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Latimer Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Latimer Christchurch overlooks scenic Latimer Square, in the heart of the city. Newly built 100% compliant to new building standards and opened in 2013 this 4.5 star hotel is five levels high and offers 138 accommodation rooms spread over the first four floors. The fifth floor boasts a penthouse apartment with breathtaking views stretching from the Port Hills to the Southern Alps. Premier conference and event facilities with 11 flexible spaces housing up to 500 delegates. All spaces are flooded with natural light, integrated audio visual equipment, exceptional menu options and a dedicated team of conference professionals is on had to assist in the planning and facilitation. Located on the ground floor is Bloody Mary's Bar-Lounge-Grill, a premium steakhouse featuring some of the finest locally sourced ingredients from right here in Canterbury. New York steakhouse meets Kiwi hospitality for a true beef lover’s dream. You will be eager to ‘steak’ your claim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Latimer Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing