We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and courtyard - piece of Italy in the city”
Review of Baretta

Baretta
Ranked #130 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Baretta Bar & Restaurant is a little piece of Italy in Christchurch. From the moment you walk through the door you will feel like you have stepped back to another time and place. From the exquisite interior and moody appearance, to the inviting terracotta paved courtyard - Baretta is our interpretation of a classic Italian trattoria with a Kiwi influence.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and courtyard - piece of Italy in the city”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We went after purchasing one of the daily deal vouchers which made it even better value! The place is lovely, great atmosphere with a mix of dark wallpaper, salvaged wood and lush furniture. Not to mention the fab courtyard which is like a piece of Italy in Christchurch....great for a few drinks after work! We had the steak which was lovely and although the portions seemed on the small side we couldn't squeeze in a desert. Good selection of wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    82
    31
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have just come in from a most delightful meal. Entrée (??initzione) was fabulous and the pork main dish also. Next time we will share an entree. The service and attention from staff was great. No room for dessert.
We will most definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan3322014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and lovely food”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed n evening meal here on a Sunday night. They have two sittings and we booked for the early 6pm. We were seated immediately and offered water and drinks. Service was attentive with water glass refilled constantly. Food was beautiful, particularly the arancini balls.
Will definitely go again
Decor is beautiful and the staff excellent


Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Dined here with friends at a Sunday lunch time. Fantastic decor & the Italian theme even continues in the bathrooms, with Italian lessons bring played through the speakers! There is a lovely enclosed courtyard area but we sat inside as it was a cool day.
The staff were friendly & welcoming & our waiter had a great sense of humour but also managed to be inconspicuous as he tended to drinks etc. All 5 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals & our entire experience here. Will definitely return - maybe on a warmer day so we can sit in the court yard

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place let down by poor service!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nice Italian styled eatery let down by average food, intrusive waiting staff and poor service. We arrived for lunch with the place almost empty inside and a few table outside. We were squashed into a small 3 seat table (better tables all around completely vacant) and attended by a young inexperienced woman who tried her best to interrupt our lunch and conversation by making numerous trips to our table to fuss and clear up. In the end I had to ask her to go away as we tired of her presence. The coffee we ordered did not arrive and then the same waitress informed us that they had been too busy to make it (tables still empty) so we cancelled coffee and left. Certainly wouldn't go back, I shudder to think what would happen if they were busy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodgrubguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baretta also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Baretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing