We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baretta

Baretta
Ranked #105 of 952 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, European, New Zealand, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Baretta Bar & Restaurant is a little piece of Italy in Christchurch. From the moment you walk through the door you will feel like you have stepped back to another time and place. From the exquisite interior and moody appearance, to the inviting terracotta paved courtyard - Baretta is our interpretation of a classic Italian trattoria with a Kiwi influence.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just stepping inside Baretta gave us a hint of the treat instore. European decor, with service to match. Our Italian waiter, Francesco, was responsible for our intriguing evening, explaining the menu with enthusiasm and delight, choosing the wines with perfection The pork fillet was to die for - cooked medium - a new experience for me. Just awesome to see the Christchurch restaurant scene introducing high quality inexpensive dining. We will most definintely be recommending this restaurant to all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    80
    28
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Probably one of my best nights out. Good live music. And decent cocktails. And the atmosphere was good to. Including a very random dogs bowl in the courtyard

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wessa666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Poor service very bad management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I have been to baretta 3 x first time for coffe during the day good experance. Second time for lunch poor service late and waited for ages. 3rd time for drinks with a friend were i was bullied by the manager and asked to leave a table with out him even hearing what happend i was a victim of an angry mob of people who had drunk to much and didnt like what i said and they turned on me. They called the manager over and said tell this girl to leave. I had spent alot of money and had no reason to why he felt i should leave these people who turned on me. These people should have been the ones asked to leave as they were very abusive to me. Clearly the manager was friends with then and didnt even stop to ask what was going on. I am never going to this unprofessional place again and i know alot of people who will also avoid baretta!!!! Very disapointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peepout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and courtyard - piece of Italy in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We went after purchasing one of the daily deal vouchers which made it even better value! The place is lovely, great atmosphere with a mix of dark wallpaper, salvaged wood and lush furniture. Not to mention the fab courtyard which is like a piece of Italy in Christchurch....great for a few drinks after work! We had the steak which was lovely and although the portions seemed on the small side we couldn't squeeze in a desert. Good selection of wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have just come in from a most delightful meal. Entrée (??initzione) was fabulous and the pork main dish also. Next time we will share an entree. The service and attention from staff was great. No room for dessert.
We will most definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan3322014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baretta also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Baretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing