We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very decent hotel in the centre of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Very decent hotel in the centre of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

To get the main negative out of the way first, the bathroom washbasin is basically in the middle of the bedroom area (see photo). So there isn’t any privacy if you are sharing the room, but I guess it means you can brush your teeth/make a cup of coffee/watch the news, all in one smooth movement! Washbasin multi-tasking. With very little shelf space, you will also find this area becomes quite cluttered. The designer of this unusual layout should not be given any further assignments.

Otherwise, the room has good functionality: comfortable bed, safe, tea/coffee/fridge, TV with plenty of channels, excellent desk with international electric socket.

There was a very good view to the banks peninsula, over the city’s cathedral which still awaits its ultimate fate (see photo).

Wi-fi in the lobby area is restricted to 30 minutes, with totally rubbish reception making it virtually unusable. It costs a fortune in the room, so you probably won’t bother. But there are three Macs in the lobby with internet access. Consistently friendly, helpful staff.

The location is extraordinarily quiet in the evening: there are no restaurants, bars, etc, nearby. But it is very interesting to see some of the post-quake developments which are all within a few minutes walk, such as Re-Start, Quake City, New Regent Street and the new temporary Cathedral. The central bus stop is 5 minutes walk away, the Museum/Botanic Gardens 10 minutes walk and there are three large supermarkets around 10 to 12 minutes walk.

However, if you want a hotel, rather than a motel, in the centre of town, with a great room and staff, I would recommend the recently re-opened Novotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Airlineconsultant,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We do indeed receive several mixed comments regarding our concept bathroom design. I certainly understand that while this suits certain travellers, it may not suit others. As you have mentioned, it does allow 2 people to get ready for their day at the same time.

I am pleased to hear that you not only found our rooms to be functional, but also enjoyed our convenience location and fantastic views.

Thank you for recommending us and do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    432
    110
    26
    13
See reviews for
148
396
64
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We checked into this hotel that is newly opened after post earthquake refurbishment. It's great to see a hotel back in the central city. We had a standard studio and the receptionist gave us the choice of a room with plenty of sun so it was just lovely. The beds are fantastic as they are new and we had a great nights sleep. There is a fairly good hotel gym that we used and the rooms were very comfortable. The hotel seems to be quite well sound proofed as we found it very quiet. We were on the 8th floor. Staff were very efficient and friendly, we would definitely stay here again. We stayed here after a horror trip in a campervan so it was a great "Rescue" by Novotel! Nicely decorated, very happy all round.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gibraltarwgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear gibraltarwgtn,

Thank you for your fantastic comments. We are indeed pleased to have been able to rescue you from your campervan of horror.

Great to hear that you not only enjoyed your sunny room, but also got a great night's sleep in on our new beds. Well deserved I am sure after a campervan trip. Our hotel indeed is well sound proofed and our staff forever waiting and willing to assist. I will certainly share your comments with them.

Thank you once again for the excellent feedback. I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

All but brand new hotel as apparently had only recently opened before earthquake struck. From the outside looks a bit strange as everything around it has been demolished or fenced off, but once inside the hotel is excellent. Nice spacious room, well equipped, comfortable bed. Staff all very friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended and right in the middle of city (although there is not much city left know). Only thing slightly unusual was that due to size of bathroom the sink is outside the bathroom and mirror folds out from wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GW666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear GW666,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am very glad to hear that you not only enjoyed our spacious and well laid out rooms, but also found our bed ot be extremely comfortable. Our staff are truly an asset to us and I will certainly commend them following you comments.

GW666, thank you once again. It is my hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed three nights and enjoyed my stay. The location is erriee and unique amongst the rebuild of Christchurch, it will only get better as the central city comes back to life. The staff were awesome, very friendly and helpful and the service was great. The chef on the breakfast buffett greeted everyone with morning pleasantries and did a fine job on the eggs.

My only complaint was the tv and phone in my room didn't work and didn't get fixed over 3 days. Otherwise a really good stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHassell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Kiwi-Hass,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It is truly a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am pleased to hear that you were well looked after by all our staff at the hotel. They are truly an asset to us.

I am however, terribly sorry to hear that you room phone and TV was not fixed. Please rest assured I will be following this up with my Front Office and Maintenance team. We are currently in the process of replacing several faulty phones throughout the hotel and hope to have this completed by the end of the month.

Kiwi-Hass, once again, thank you very much for your comments. Your comments enable us to better serve all our guests in future.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to Novotel Christchurch in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is an amazing hotel staffed with fabulous people. 8 of us stayed there the weekend before it officially opened (a prize package won from Novotel and Air New Zealand). The rooms are very well laid out with everything you need. The exec chef Phillip and assistants Melissa and Steve were extremely talented with nothing too much trouble...thank you so much for all your care and attention. Front of house Sid and Geoff, you were both amazing, nothing was too much trouble and we all felt very cared for and pampered. The hotel is beautiful, clean, well located and somewhere we all plan to use whenever we visit Christchurch in the future. Thank you for the most fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazjoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Kazjoolz,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were extremely delighted to have you stay with us as our guests prior to the hotel opening.

Our staff were all geared up and excited for your arrival as our first official guests. Therefore, I am very pleased to hear that you were well looked after. It was truly a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pathankot, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

the best thing about this hotel was the view from the terrace of the room it was just beautiful.....the rooms were very comfortable & spacious though the bathroom was a bit small but apart from that everything was just too good the location is excellent u cannot ask for a better location.....the staff was very friendly and took good care of you.....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnygupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had visited Christchurch as the final destination on our honemoon to New Zealand. Fabulous location right near the beautiful Cathedral Square. All attractions are at walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and the hotel staff is friendly. There is a seperate charge levied for car parking, which you should take note of before booking.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aruna_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Property: Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing