We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveller rating
357
493
138
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
493
138
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral squarebathroom sinkcentral locationhand basinper dayregent streetnew zealandgood sizethe heart of the citycomfortable hotelbuffet breakfastrestart mallfree internetone night staysouth islandcomfy bedbotanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
757 - 762 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I only stayed here 1 night and I found it very clean decent and chic. It is Located right next to the iconic Cathedral on Cathedral square, however the neighbourhood is very badly damaged due to the recent earthquake which struck twice in this city. It’s very quiet in the vicinity at night though. Breakfast is very good, and the breakfast room has a beautiful view of the Square. Lots of building repair works going on around the hotel, but as such this hotel is untouched by any damage. My room on the 11th floor had big space, and the bed was very comfortable. However I found it very strange that the basin was not inside the Bathroom area but outside of it. It looked a bit constricted to me. Even the bath-cubicle area has half a glass cover and so some water splashes outside the cubicle area too. What I liked was that the bath cubicle has an overhead shower as well as a hand shower. Typically the Novotel has very good quality amenities provided in the room. I do not remember seeing any bathrobes nor any slippers, but all-in-all it is a very comfortable hotel to stay. They do provide complimentary tea/coffee in the room though. The CBD location does gives it a good advantage for the business traveller.

Room Tip: any higher room it doesn't matter
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Poruse,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our new and chic hotel.

Our location is indeed unique and ideal as we gear up for the Christchurch re-build.

Thank you once again for your feedback. Your continued support is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Please remember the CBD is no more. The cathedral is not the centre of city action any more. We still loved this hotel, the rooms are clean and fairly spacious and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

However, ditto to the other comments about the weird sink area. The placement is just strange. The other thing is there is nowhere in the bathroom to leave dry clothes whilst showering. The good thing is there is lots of free parking on the adjoining empty building site if you don't mind driving over rubble.

As other people have commented you need to go quite far afield to find restaurants and supermarkets. The roads around the hotel are closed and opened randomly according to which buildings are being demolished. Taxis are no problems, self driving is a nightmare due to one way roads and road closures. Otherwise use the hotel restaurant.

Restart Mall is a 5 min walk which is worthwhile visiting, so is the restart exhibition, well worth $10. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you do t mind shakes from earthquakes go high up. If you are wary go further down. The good thing is there are no other high rises any more so you can see over Canterbury with an unobstructed view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear KiwiCat1234,

Thank you for your excellent comments and rating following your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to know that you loved our hotel and thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Your continued support is imperative to our region and I thank you for this.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Christchurch on a midnight flight. The hotel was easy enough to find, the only issues we had was the large amount of closed roads in the city - plenty of dead ends. The room was clean, modern, warm and quiet.

The only negative feedback I have is that the limited free wifi made it very difficult to find restaurants, shops etc and keep in touch with friends and family back home.

Overall a very pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KellHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear KellHay,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our success is based on your feedback and is therefore very important.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have your continued support.

I hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I can't fault this place. One of only 2 places open that I could tell in the red zone. Really nice place, unfortunately there isn't much going on around but again very clean place, nice rooms, high class restaurant. Check out the surrounding artwork while christchurch spends the next decade or 2 rebuilding itself to it's former glory

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunnballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear lunnballs,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found us to be a great place to stay.

We too are eagerly waiting for businesses to re-open in centre city and are all geared up for it.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Nice greeting, and reset table to location we wanted.Wine waiter needs some education in the finesse in pouring and not banging bottle on the glass each time, and following up on needs. We had to go and find a them to buy a overpriced bottle at $45, with no choice of year , a very green wine was poured (banged)out, when next day it was $12 in the local Supermrkt,.the choice of plates was good, but the salmon on the noodle base was bland.
Service was always with a smile, from some young staff, and the cheese board was great.Closing at 11 on a Saturday night holiday weekend maybe reflects the quieter tone on CHCH noways

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KiwiKomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear KiwiKomments,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We firmly believe that there is always rooms for improvement and your feedback is imperative as it enables us to constantly better ourselves.

I have passed on your comments regarding the lack of training to our Restaurant and Bar Manager to action immediately. Thank you for drawing this to our attention.

I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews