We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
357
494
138
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
494
138
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral squarebathroom sinkcentral locationhand basinper dayregent streetnew zealandgood sizethe heart of the citycomfortable hotelbuffet breakfastrestart mallfree internetone night staysouth islandcomfy bedbotanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Newly renovated hotel in the middle of the earthquake damaged area. Modern spacious room with comfortable bed. Room amenities include coffee maker and fridge. Good bath tub shower although the half glass door isn't very functional - inevitably the floor gets splashed. Goof buffet breakfast. The hotel has a small gym.
The area around the hotel seems like a ghost town at night - it's not easy to find a restaurant open late, especially on Monday night.
WiFi is very expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank cqfp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear cqfp123,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our newly renovated hotel.

Christchurch is certainly on the bounce back and we too are eagerly awaiting our new city to be completed, albeit will be a while.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and for your support. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Jade at recepetion and Geoffroy ( Duty Manager ) are shining examples of professional staff for the Novotel chain and are a credit to them. Thank you for all your help with my hotel bookings in France ! Its just a pity I didn't get more time to enjoy your lovely hotel in Christchurch. wishing you the very best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level floor for the views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballinasalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Ballinasalmon,

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience at Novotel Christchurch with us. I am truly proud to hear of the exceptional service you were provided by Geoff and Jade. Our staff are our biggest asset and your comments certainly re-iterate this.

Thank you for your best wishes and for your support. I hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel stay was very nice, the rooms were spacious and warm. We had an awesome meal in the restaurant. In fact the chef (Sebastian) cooked for us the crayfish and perch we had caught earlier that day on a fishing cruise. It was one of the best meals we ate the entire 4 week trip. The hotel was clean and certainly a gem in the eye of all the devastation. The staff was probably the best though. Andrew, the concierge, who did everything for us. He took our bags, recommend places to go and eat, and seemed to be everywhere in the hotel doing something at some time, was awesome! The rest of the staff was also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Joe D,

Thank you for your excellent feedback and for drawing our attention to the excellent service provided by Sebastian and Andrew. Our staff are our biggest asset and your comments re-iterate the excellent work they do every day. I am extremely pleased to hear of your fishing trip and the meal you subsequently enjoyed with us.

I will share your comments with our team as this will act as encouragement to all of them.

Thank you once again for your excellent feedback. I do hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great nights sleep. Moving experience to stay here as city centre area around us is still so damaged by the earthquake, though people are very positive and trying best to rebuild their city life. Great hairdryer. Wifi limited to 30 mins per day, though there is free use of the pcs in the lobby area. Ate all meals in Re-Start mall area nearby, in Hummingbird cafe which was super food and service. Airport bus No 29 [8 dollars each] delivered us about 4 minutes walk away from the hotel, though we got a shuttle back to airport at a very good price advertised on a card we picked up at the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stirfry151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Stirfry151,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found us to be excellent and thouroughly enjoyed your time in Christchurch.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Lovely new hotel very comfortable room on the 8th floor over looking the very sad remains of the Cathedral. Enjoyed great breakfasts each morning and a lovely meal in the restaurant one evening. Andrew the concierge was extremely friendly, interested in our visit to Christchurch and helped us greatly finding our way around the CBD under rebuild. Good luck Christchurch in your recovery.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Burnsee,

Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback with us. I am very pleased to hear that Andrew was extremely helpful and will proudly share your comments with our team. This will certainly act as encouragement to all of them.

Burnsee, thank you once again for your continued support. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews