We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good and well run hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #18 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A very good and well run hotel ”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We were impressed with the excellent service and the standard of the room within this new and moderate sized Novotel. The room was modern design (we liked the specific bathroom integration) and the bed very comfortable. We had a room on the top floor allowing a view out over the city. For a first time visitor the location seemed ideal. The breakfast service was perfectly acceptable. The concierge and front desk staff were extremely helpful and worked hard to make recommendations, book transport and then secure the preferred option for diner reservations. (we went to fiddlesticks - it was 5 mins walk and excellent). Clearly there is a lot redevelopment all over the city and this hotel would be one of the first to be opened. Whilst there will undoubtably be more expensive and higher standard options, we found this hotel better than expected and we would stay again. Thanks to all the staff - you make the difference

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mercedes1970,

Thank you for your most encouraging comments. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am particulary pleased to hear that you were well looked after by our team. They are truly an asset and I will ensure your comments are shared with them.

I am glad to hear that you not only enjoyed our central location, but also our new and modern rooms and bathroom design in particular.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. I do hope you will visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    450
    119
    26
    13
See reviews for
156
416
67
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Christchurch has been so badly devasted by the earthquake in 2011 yet these folks are survivors and trying to re build.
The Novotel looks brand new but in fact was a 'survivor' of the quake. It is centrally located with a view of the sadly ruined cathedral.
The room was clean, bright, modern. Thought they were a bit stingey with the toiletries.
Buffet breakfast was very good & the dining area pleasant.
Only 30 mins free Wifi in lobby-sufficient for holiday use.
There are very few hotels left to use within the city but this is a decent place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear francophile5310,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed our central location, but also our newly renovated rooms.

I will share your comments with our team as I am sure this will act as encouragement to all of staff.

Thank you once again and I hope you will visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel located, adjacent to the devastated Christchurch Cathedral. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. We had breakfast in the restaurant and enjoyed the continental breakfast. We felt quite safe in the muti-storey hotel which is surrounded by abandoned buildings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quicker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Quicker5,

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Guest satisfaction is vital for our success and I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed a peaceful stay in Christchurch.

Your comments re-iterate the excellent job carried out by our staff and I will ensure your comments are shared with them.

Thank you once again for your re-assuring feedback. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night with my husband and enjoyed our stay.

The front desk lady was very friendly and accommodating.

The room was new, well cleaned and had good views.

The room service meal was delicious

The only things I wished the hotel had- slightly larger room, free cookies :) and a pool!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantal u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear chantal u,

Thank you for your excellent feedback and rating. Your comments act as encouragement to our entire team.

I am very pleased to hear that you not only found our team to be friendly and accommodating, but also enjoyed our new clean rooms with great views. The views are truly unique and provide an excellent vantage point for viewing all the rebuild action in Christchurch centre city.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A very good hotel in the central area but surrounded by earthquake damage. Close to the city tram route and a nice walk to Hagley Park.
Restaurant service could be a bit quicker but the hotel food is good. Comfortable beds in well equiped bedrooms.

Room Tip: Bedrooms directly overlooking the square are best for views. Side of hotel rooms OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asproparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear asproparos,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is truly a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team as I am sure this will act as encouragement to all our staff.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed only for one night. Member of reception team who checked us out did not like it when I queried an item on my bill.
We did not like having the wash hand basin in the bedroom area.
Porter/concierge staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear William B,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am extremely disappointed to hear that a member of our team did not appreciate a bill query, when asked. This is certainly not acceptable as responding to all guest queries in top on our priority list. Please accept my sincerest apology for this.

I have launced an investigation with our front office manager to establish exactly what happened and who the staff member might be. As such, may I please request 1 quick email with details of your stay, as this will enable us to complete our investigation and rectify the issue.

William B, thank you for bringing this to my attention. Please do email me on carl.braddock@accor.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Great location, clean, helpful staff and good restaurant and bar! Couldn't ask for more. I used the gym which was ok but I loved the shower and king size bed. Christchurch is a little sad though. Can park for free outside and only short walk to most places.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marksonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Marksonno,

Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback with us. I am very pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed our central location, but also our king beds and rain shower.

I will share your comments with our team as I am sure this will act as encouragement to all of them.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#36 of 144 in Christchurch
918 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Property: Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#14 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing