We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
234 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at the Novotel Christchurch for 2 nights, the staff on arrival super helpfull and the breakfast lady especially very friendly. The rooms are normal novotel rooms except the bathrooms are kind of weird. The only negitive I have is the beds were very uncomfortable, they are slat and dont have any topper on the top of the mattress. I stayed on the 10th floor. Dinner was very good too and the breakfast was not as good as the Hamilton or Wellington Novotels but still plenty of choices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Jodie803,
Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.
Comments about hardware such as beds and bathrooms are important for the future design of our hotels so we really appreciate this feedback. Thank you.
I think we can take a leaf out of our Hamilton and Wellington Novotels books and keep up with their breakfast standard! We do try and compete with each other for the best offering..these guys are tough..but we can get there..Thanks for giving us a heads up on that one.
Thanks again Jodie, we hope we can welcome you back to CHC.
Carl and the Team at Novotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    432
    110
    26
    13
See reviews for
148
396
64
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just spent 3 nights here. Wonderful room on top floor with large and view of city. The service was terrific and very friendly. Parking was fine as disused sections all around at present. Everything very clean and modern. Free wifi was a pleasant surprise. Had lovely meal in restaurant. Will certainly be back. Being Accor member really helps.

Room Tip: Top floor executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommo1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Tommo!

Thanks for your review...I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we can see you back again.

Kind regards

Carl and The Team at Novotel Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I recently stayed here for work, the hotel was really lovely. Great friendly and efficient staff. Big clean room with a stunning view of the city and the port hills. I would say the only thing that let it down was the parking. But as the city is in the middle of a rebuild it is something that will improve in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for the city side as it has a great view the other side is looking out over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteLee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Charlotte,

Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor!

Not sure what you mean about the parking?..Can you come back to me on that?

We have secure parks under our hotel, valet parking and (far be it from me not to try and sell our valet parking service) but free parking abounds because of the empty space around the hotel, wonderfully free until new buildings go up..!

Please let me know what you meant about the parking..maybe we didn't meet you/direct you?


Carl and The team at Novotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northam, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night at the start of our trip. We arrived early morning cold, foggy and a bit damp. We thought we would see about check in early. possible of a small charge. Maybe even a small discount for being an Accor Loyalty member. So we asked. To be told about $120. Are you serious? We came back later and someone else was at desk and checked us in. The Executive room was GREAT. View to the cathedral. No noise. Staff apart from 1 were fantastic. The bell boy (think thats his title) thats stands by door to help was AMAZING, he had maps and our route planned out. Definitely recommend to family snd friends

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BruceandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi Bruce and Amber,

$120 dollars...no way!! I'm going to check that out..good lord ... and an ACCOR Member to boot!

Gawd, we really do trip ourselves up sometimes don't we?.. drop me an email so I can follow it up for you..

I'm glad you liked Andrew at the front door..I'm assuming it was him..EVERYONE says he's awesome!!

Many thanks for your feedback, I hope we will see you again.

Kind regards

Carl and The Team at Novotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. We were Very pleased with it - this is such a nice hotel!

Bad things: Wi-Fi isn't free, most of the area nearby is still under construction, there is no parking

Good things: the rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable, the staff is incredibly nice and helpful, they have maps and recommendations for places nearby to go for dinner (some walkable, some where you might prefer to drive), there was an abandoned gravel lot outside where I could park for free (though the hotel warned that since they didn't own it, they couldn't accept liability if something happened), they have laundry machines available for use in the basement ($4/load) which was so useful, and their minibar is reasonably well stocked.

All in all we had a great stay there. It was nice to be able to walk to the restart area too!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Jen D,

Thanks for posting your comments on TripAdvisor – Good and bad!

We continue to struggle with the free Wif-Fi issue..but we’re getting there thank you!

Yes, our city is under construction, we will have a whole new futuristic green city as a result.

We have tons of parking, free around the hotel, and 25 valet spaces (secure) under the hotel, in case you visit us on your return through Christchurch.

I’m glad our staff were nice and helpful and were able to recommend places for you.
We look forward to seeing you on your return.

Kind regards’

Carl and The team at Novotel Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed for just one night, and was very happy with the choice. Its an oasis in the midst of all the reconstruction in the city.
Friendly staff who are there to help, and know when to leave you alone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abeb1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Abeb 1900

Many thanks for your TripAdvisor comments!

We appreciate them.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back.

Kind regards

Carl and The team at Novotel Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a lovely few days at this hotel and we were very well looked after. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was well laid out and comfortable and I slept really well. We ate at the restaurant as there is limited availability elsewhere due to the earthquake damage. I am gluten intolerant and the staff were very helpful and non judgmental, the chef even came out to talk to me about my requirements and I had some great meals. Its always difficult when I travel so this type of service makes a huge difference to me so thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Zoe E,

Many thanks for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.,

I'm glad we were able to satisfy your needs gluten free and that the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The Chef does love to go out and talk to guests..hes a friendly fellow!.

I am happy that our service made a difference to you.

Kind regards

Carl and The Team at Novotel Christchurch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#37 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Property: Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing