We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$177
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$119
US$107
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveller rating
355
491
135
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
491
135
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral squarebathroom sinkcentral locationhand basinper dayregent streetnew zealandgood sizethe heart of the citycomfortable hotelbuffet breakfastrestart mallfree internetone night staysouth islandcomfy bedbotanical gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
619 - 624 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week upon arriving in Christchurch whilst looking for permanent accommodation. Very attentive staff. Lovely new hotel. Looks out onto the devasted city after the earthquake. Paid extra for wifi and movies. Only complaint would be lack of shelf or storage in bathroom and sink in bedroom, not bathroom. Needs either 2 sinks, or just in bathroom. Felt unhygienic not being able to wash hands in bathroom.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Gill,

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.

Glad we were your home for a week and that you enjoyed our staff.

The bathroom was designed exactly for the purpose you mention, to create space.
Every so often we go thru a re-design and that's where your comments contribute valuably, so thank you.

We hope you'll come in from time to time even though you live in CHC now.

Kind regards
Carl and the Team at Novotel Christchurch..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I was very impressed with the hospitality we received by the friendly staff at Novatel Cathedral Square in Christchurch, on a recent visit to this beautiful city. We had a very comfortable stay in what is obviously a very strong structure. The hotel survived the recent earthquakes without internal damage, and has been extensively renovated to a very high standard.

The strengthening around the hotel (outside and not obvious at ground level) was extremely reassuring to nervous travellers. We felt completely safe here. The 7th floor outside view, and the damaged Cathedral nearby was a bit daunting, but Christchurch is on the mend. Its a great city, and the hotel has an extremely safe feel about it. Give it a go ..... you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Quiet and sunny room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AucklandHayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear AucklandHayden,

Thank you for taking time to share your views.

You are absolutely right, the hotel has been strengthened to a very high standard after the earthquakes and is a very safe building. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our hospitality.

Thank you again for sharing your views and we look forward to welcoming you again to our ever-changing city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very comfortable, friendly staff, no problem with our check-in after midnight. Quiet, which is good considering how much construction is going on around the area. Comfortable beds which is always important. Only suggestion would be that the staff, while very friendly, seemed a little less than knowledgeable about where to eat etc. But that could be because everything is changing all the time in Christchurch - it's a city under construction! Wifi in the lobby was helpful, but limited to a short time each day. The computers in the lobby were unreliable for internet access though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTraveller530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear HappyTraveller530,

Thank you for sharing your views.

As you said, the city is in a rebuild state and it is a challenge for all of us to keep up with the changes. However, I will make sure that staff is more up to date with the surroundings.

Moving forward we are looking at making changes to our internet offering, so guests can enjoy free internet in the rooms. This is the first time someone has mentioned about the lobby computers being unreliable, I will make sure this is looked at.

I am glad to hear that you found our rooms comfortable & quiet and our friendly staff looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It was several hour stay only and yet unforgettable.
The room was super clean, fresh, new and just had everything we need.
The staff was friendly to children.
Theu have free wifi at lobby area.
Location is good. Within walking distance to several restaurants and several minutes driving to town centre.
Would stay again at this hotel if we were to comeback to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lime82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Lime82,

I am very glad to hear that you stay was unforgettable!

I will share your comments with our team, especially our housekeeping team as they work hard to make sure the rooms are squeaky clean.

Thank you so much for your encouraging comments and we look forward to welcoming again on your next visit to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Checked in after a short flight from Australia. Nice new hotel, however it's location is right in the middle of the reconstruction zone. Staff are friendly, room was great, it's new, comfortable bed. Breakfast was ok, but dinner was good. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi Yoshi,

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor!

Yes, we are right in the middle of Christchurch and it will be a while until all that reconstruction will be over..but WOW! What a city once it's finished..come back and watch it in stages and share with us the once in a lfetime experience of seeing such an effort.

We look forward to seeing you back here again

Kind regards

Carl and the Team at Novotel Christchurch...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews