We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #20 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Excellent Hotel, can't rate it highly enough. Reason for the sleep quality was the aftershocks, I had a 5.0, 4.4, 4.2 qnd 4.6 over the 6 days. That aside nothing could stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XirrusAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

A very comfortable 3-night stay in a modern hotel with a retro bar in the very centre of the city. You cannot go past this one! There were only two items that I think could be improved:
1. I did not receive a daily newspaper where my travelling work colleagues did; and
2. Rooms with twin beds do not give you the floor space to put anything, like a suit case. Ask for a king double. These look much more comfortable!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jafa_Smithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2010

Dear Jafa_Smithers,

Thank you for recently choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch and for your kind feedback.

I am sorry that you did not receive your morning newspaper. We always keep additional newspapers at both our Square Restaurant on Level 1 and also at reception as on occasions newspapers are known to go missing from outside of guest rooms.

I am also very sorry that you did not receive a room with a King Bed.

Jafa_Smithers, thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Christchurch in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Stayed for 3 nights and found this hotel to be spotlessly clean, with friendly,helpful staff and comfortable rooms. Modern and I know this doesn't seem much but the lifts were super fast. Great buffet breakfast too. Would go back again for sure.
Brad

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluey114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

Dear Bluey114,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch recently as well as for your very kind words.

Bluey114, our Executive Housekeeper and her team pride themselves on their high standards and it is great to see that this is reflected in your feedback. I have also taken the liberty of sharing your positive feedback about the breakfast buffet with our Executive Chef as well.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us at the Novotel Christchurch and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to New Zealand's South Island in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We traveled to Christchurch right after the earthquake. We emailed the hotel to make sure they didn't sustain any damage and they were quick to respond. There was no damage and we were okay to stay. The room was great, clean and very modern and our bed was extremely comfy. It's also right next to the Cathedral which makes for a great view. I HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photogirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear Photogirl007,

We greatly appreciate you choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch and also for coming to the city only a couple of weeks after the earthquake. We are very fortunate to be looking after a brand new hotel which was built to the most stingent building specifications. Since then, you will also be delighted to hear that the aftershocks have slowed down now as well.

Photogirl007, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and do sincerely hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again at the Novotel Christchurch in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

we stayed here twice during our NZ holiday, at the beginning and end of the trip. it really set the bar for the rest of the holiday. the service was very friendly and efficient. they helped us out with directions and maps. they even packed a takeaway breakfast for us as we were leaving very early the next morning. the meal we had in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and the wait staff were fantastic. i cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, our stays there were trouble free, and a real pleasure. the free wifi in the lobby was a standout too, we didnt see that at any other hotel in NZ.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomoo3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2010

Dear Moomoo3001,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on both of your visits to Christchurch. It truely is appreciated. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed both of your visits with us and that you also found both our staff welcoming and hospitable. In relation to the complimentary i mac stations, I am delighted to advise that this is a Novotel brand standard throughout the Asia Pacific region.

Moomoo3001, I do hope the entire Novotel Christchurch team have the opportunity to welcome you back to New Zeland's South Island in the very near future. Thank you once again for your very kind and generous feedback.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

we are a family of 2 adults & 2 children (ages 11 & 14) Excellent location (cab from airport cost about $40 NZ ) but nice - easy check in after a late flight.. And OMG wonderful beds, we have travelled around the world & know how important a great nite sleep. And these beds & linen made it easy to fall asleep very happy.
Nice breakfast - good value if you can get included in your price. Many fast food, or pubs with great deals for dinners/lunch nearby.
got room 501 on the 5th floor with the best views of the Cathedral & city centre..amazing.
Staff very nice, very helpful with any requests when needed.
so will be planning our next stay asap here asap.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2010

Dear Jetty2,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch and also for sharing your hotel experience. The team here is absolutely delighted that your family had a most enjoyable stay. I also appreciate you highlighting our staff's friendliness as that is something we are continually focusing on and reinforcing throughout our entire hotel team.

Jetty2, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Christchurch in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Great hotel in central location to sights, restaurants, and bars. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, all amenities available. Free internet. Valet parking for a charge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010

Dear Maddiefly,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Novotel Christchurch and also for sharing your experience with our fellow like minded travellers. Whilst New Zealand is a long way from the USA, we do sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Christchurch in the very near future.

In the meantime, I do sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your world travels.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#36 of 146 in Christchurch
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £90 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing