We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No after shock!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #20 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 November 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharynandron
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

Arrived rather jet-lagged into Christchurch. Was able to check in early with no problems. REquested for document from the hotel for banking purposes, and Ian was very helpful. Location is central and very convenient to get to most attractions within the city. Rooms were clean and although a bit small, was comfortable for 2. Booked early and managed to get good rates.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL_YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 November 2010

Dear RL_YL,

Thank you for recently choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square.

RL_YL, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our central city location in the very heart of the city and also found our reception team members to be most friendly. I was also delighted to read that you found our rooms clean and comfortable.

Again, thank you for selecting to stay at the Novotel Christchurch and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Christchurch in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Melbourne
1
Reviewed 3 November 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at the Novotel for 3 nights in October. Although I forgot to ask for an additional bed for my son (4 years old) when booking, the Novotel pre-empted this & made an extra bed for us before we checked it so, it was a lovely surprise!! Our room was spacious, new & clean. It was almost luxurious! The small gym was excellent & we also enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the hotel (good selection). There were 3 computers at the lobby for guests to use with free internet (limited to 20 minutes each time).

The only negatives were the extra NZ$30 per night for valet parking and the water in the shower kept going hot & cold making it very hard to shower a small child (on our last night)!

Overall, very happy with Novotel & will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Dear Tam009,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Novotel Christchurch experience with us all - as it is only through valued guests such as yourself who take the time to share their experience that we are able to constantly monitor and improve our level of guest service.

Tam009, I am thrilled to read that overall you enjoyed our new gymnasium, were able to jump online on our complimentary i mac stations and that you also enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Being only 9 months old as a property it is great to hear that you also found the rooms most clean and comfortable.

In relation to the water shower presssure challenges I have spoken to our Chief Engineer and this has now been resolved. This problem occured on our 6th floor and in the last 10 days of October we took this floor out of service in order to completely investigate and rectify this concerning issue. I do appreciate you highlighting this for us.

Tam009, thank you once again for taking the time to share your Novotel Christchurch experience and I do hope you are able to revisit New Zealand's South Island as well as ourselves in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This hotel is well positioned, excellent facilities was disappointed that we did not have a room with a view as we had a 5 night stay and thought this could warrent a better outlook than onto backpacker rooves. We just made sure we were only there to sleep.Didn't care too much for the cramped bathroom/tea making all in one facility but did serve it's purpose ok.
Staff helpful and polite and rooms quiet which is a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blissyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Dear BlissyB,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch for your extended visit to Christchurch.

I am dissapointed to read that you unfortunately did not receive a room with one of our stunning views overlooking Cathedral Square. In order to guarrentee this outlook I would reccommend that our guests book one of our Executive rooms. These rooms are located on the top 4 floors of the property and thereby are guarrenteed to either offer an outlook overlooking Cathedral Square or out to the Pacific Coastline.

BlissyB, I am however delighted to read that you found our staff most helpful and polite.

I do sincerely hope we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square in the very near future and also thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

we stayed at the Novotel for three nights, arrived at 3;30am, after a little hicup in the bookings(my fault) we were all in rooms by 4.00am,we were all very impressed by the personal attention given by all the staff, nothing seemed to be a problem, valet parking a bit xxxx but very convenient, the hotel is in a great position to shops, sights of a beautiful City, great coffee at the boat shed, we would have no problem reccomending this great hotel, and all look forward to spending more time there

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pops46Kiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RevChC, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Dear pops46Kiama,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square and for also sharing your feedback with fellow travellers.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed both our personalised service as well as our great location.

Pops46Kiama, I do sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to beutiful Christchurch and the Novotel in the very near future. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us as well as taking the time to share your experience with others. I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
NZ
1
Reviewed 31 October 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £104 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing