We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Very good service at the reception. Knowledgeable and helpful staff. Location is also great. Breakfast is good but cannot be better in terms of variety!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    450
    119
    26
    13
See reviews for
156
416
67
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Very comfortable, friendly and helpful staff.
I would not hesitste to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Lawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong NSW
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Had five nights at this hotel while on holiday on the South Island. Wonderful hotel, great location, close to everything, public transport and most attractions. Great staff, very well trained in customer service, not all rooms have a bathtub, only huge shower, so if you prefer a tub, as we did, they try to accommodate you, without a problem, could not fault anyone. Very comfortable beds so had great nights sleep. Valet parking was very easy, just phone downstairs and the car was waiting when you got there. We had B&B package which was excellent, beautiful breakfast every morning before we headed out. Had dinner one night in the restaurant which was great, a little pricey but reasonable for this class of hotel. If ever back in Christchurch would not consider staying anywhere else, it was the best.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurawollongongNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear laurawollongongNSW,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch recently and also for taking the time to share your hotel experience.

LaurawollongongNSW, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our very central city location and that you also found our staff to be most friendly and professional. I was also delighted to read that you enjoyed both our full buffet breakfast as well as dinner in the hotel. I was also pleased to read that you found our car valet service to be quick and effecient as well.

Laurawollongong, thank you once again for selecting the Novotel Christchurch on your recent visit to the South Island and I do sincerely hope we have the opportunity to personally welome you back to the Novotel Christchurch in the very near future.


Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We spent 3 nights at Novotel Christchurch in November 2010. For the price we paid, we got a great room. The main wing building rooms are new. I think they were built this year. It was modern and clean. There was a desk with a lot of space and the bathroom was clean. The sink, however, is part of the room and not the shower. There was only a shower in our room and not a tub. The only problem we had with the shower was the partition was not long enough so when you showered, water would splatter on the floor.

The hotel is in a great location as were all Novotels we stayed in New Zealand (Queenstown and Rotorua). There are a lot of restaurants in the vicinity. We took the tram and gondola. With the gondola, you can take a bus from the main bus station which is within walking distance from the hotel. The tram does not cover a lot of ground. You can actually walk the circle if you want. However, we took the tram just for the experience.

There are 3 computers for use by guests in the lobby. We never had a problem getting on although at night, I did see a line once. There is a 20 minute limit however if no one is waiting, you can use for a longer time period. It was pretty fast.

If you need to go to the airport, use XBASE next door as they charge 5 NZD for the shuttle which leaves every hour on the hour. It was convenient as it took us from the hotel straight to the airport.

As a city, we did not find Christchurch as interesting as Queenstown. We did the Alpine Safari and we felt it was ok for the price we paid. The TranzAlpine Railroad was a little disappointing. However, we did wish we spent an extra night or two to visit Hamner Springs. The other thing we did in Christchurch was Adrenalin Forest and it was a blast. It is good for families and adults. It was a great activity.

I would recommend the Novotel for anyone visiting Christchurch. It is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Dear PandaHouston,

Seasons Greetings, and thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch recently.

The Novotel Christchurch team are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed New Zealand's South Island. Whilst Christchurch is certainly not an adventure City like Queenstown, it certainly does pride itself on its Historic Buildings, its art and the opportunities to experience New Zealand's wildlife.

PandaHouston, thank you once again for choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square and also for taking the time to share your Christchurch experience with fellow travellers. I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels abroad.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Great central position right on the Christchurch square - no need to hire a car if you are a tourist there for only a couple of nights. The hotel is modern and while the rooms are perfectly tidy and functional (feel like a fairly recent fit-out) they are reasonably basic in design, furnishings and size. We had pre-booked and paid on the hotel website which meant we picked up a very good nightly rate. Definitely worth including the buffet breakfast in your booking - a very good breakfast even if the toasters are the slowest I have ever seen!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

LOCATION
What can I say?! Wow! You could not get any more central than this! We arrived off a midnight flight into Christchurch, and it was not until we woke up the next morning to realise how well this hotel was located! The tram-line ran directly in front of the hotel. There were quite a few shops within walking distance along the main streets – I wouldn’t say a “large” variety of restaurants were close by, however as a starting point for activities around town, the Novotel is well placed!
HOTEL
Due to the late evening arrival of our flight, upon entry to the hotel, we were met with a secure entry intercom – which I think is great. At least you know strangers are not travelling in and out of the hotel unwanted! A friendly host greeted us on arrival in the lobby and pointed out the main facilities within the hotel – including a few computers available in the foyer with free internet usage!
ACCOMMODATION
We stayed in a Standard King Room. The accommodation was great - very modern décor throughout, feeling fresh and vibrant! The room was large in size overall, with fantastic views over Cathedral Square. The room also had a very large flat screen TV and a day bed beside the main bed, still feeling spacious and roomy! We did find it a little odd however, with the bathroom sink located on the outside of the bathroom. But… you could pull the main mirror outwards to block the view the room, so this wasn’t anything major!
SERVICE
We had booked the room rate inclusive of buffet breakfast. The breakfast room / restaurant had a large variety of food available - very happy with the different choices and the service was great! Both the check-in and check-out process was quite simple and the staff were friendly. We also asked for directions to pick up our car hire the next day, and the team were more than willing to point us in the right direction!
OVERALL THOUGHTS
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a base hotel, centrally located in Christchurch. Very happy with “value for money” and the rate was inclusive of breakfast for two. We only stayed here for 1 night, however, I could not fault on location, and if anything, this generally is a key for most people!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellojacquelineanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Dear Jaylen,

Thank you so much for selecting the Novotel Christchurch recently when you came to vist the stunning South Island and also for taking the time to offer such a detailed commentary on the property.

Jaylen, I am thrilled that our night team was most friendly and welcoming upon arrival, that you found our security systems comforting and that you also enjoyed our stunning city location.

I was also most pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms overall and that the breakfast buffet was also to your liking.

Jaylen, I do sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel Christchurch in the very near future and extend to you once again the high levels of service in which we pride ourselves. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to offer your detailed feedback.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards,

Roberts Ejubs
General Manager
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Sqaure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I normally stay at Sofitel hotels but I have to say Novotel Christchurch did not disappoint. The room and bathroom layout was great, much more modern than other Novotel I've stayed at and better than I've expected.The service given was outstanding. We only have good things to say about the outstanding service given by the manager on duty and staff the night we arrived. We had dinner and the restaurant food was quite good although the servings (all 3 courses for 4 people) were too big.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#36 of 144 in Christchurch
914 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel

Property: Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#32 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned alongside the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing