We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
1 review
“Gorgeous B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Gingerbread Lodge for one night at short notice. Miki was so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble & great conversations. We really enjoyed our stay in the King Room. A gorgeous B & B that we thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
29
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at the Gingerbread Lodge for a night in November '13. It is the most beautiful little B&B, with a very homey and comfy feel to it, with wooden windows and the most comfortable beds it is by far the nicest place I've stayed in a long time. It has a very european feel to it, Miki the owner is the most lovely host, the breakfast with fresh fruits from New Zealand was excellent. The rooms are ensuite with modern, very luxurious bathrooms and just a delight to stay in. For anyone from europe looking for something very nice, homey, safe and friendly it is the perfect place to stay. You might just not want to go anywhere else anymore:) I will recommend it highly to a friend who runs a german travel website.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at the gingerbread lodge for several weeks while looking for a permanent place to live when I first moved over from the UK. Miki (the owner) and her partner (Nathan) were incredibly welcoming, accommodating and supportive while I was trying to get settled and find my way about Christchurch.

The lodge feels more of a home than a B&B, with tastefully decorated rooms, lots of space and clean and well kept en-suites.

As well as a selection of breakfast options in the morning, they were also happy for me to use the cooking facilities in the evening which was a massive help so I didn't have to eat out every night.

Really enjoyed my time here and would recommend it for anyone who is looking for a nice, homely place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 651Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

It was fortunate to meet Miki. She is a type of person who is so caring and devotive. She didn't hesitate to carry heavy suitcases to upstairs by herself. She picked us up early in the morning at our hotel. She checked the information we needed. She even called people and asked for us.
I wish my daughter-in law was like her. Anyway, I felt so comfortable and close to her family which made me feel I found another home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our family stayed at Gigerbread Lodge on 10/17/2013, but even prior to staying there we befriended the hosts, Miki and Nathan, and they were super friendly and very nice to us. Miki was especially extremely helpful, and she drove us around the city - i.e. she drove my mother to the dentist and my sister to her general practitioner **Note, this was before our stay**. My sister was applying for her working holiday visa, and we asked Miki if she could stay there for a while, and Miki took us to the photographer for her pictures and the immigration office - we were in awe of her service. There is also a very cute dog whose name is Kou, so if you like dogs, you'll even be welcomed by him :) Anyways, my sister is currently staying there with Miki, and she is having a blast! She watches movies with Miki and Nathan, and Miki even took her to the beach nearby. The accomodation comes with breakfast and dinner option, but I would definitely recommend taking on that option! Miki is a professional, certified cook, and we tasted her dishes - they were all marvelously delicious! Her expertise is Japanese style, but you can ask for other styles also. Oh, btw, she happens to be a nurse, so in case of emergency, you're all covered! :) I would definitely recommend anyone going to Christchurch to stay at Gingerbread Lodge (I know I would, I even have plans going back hehe), or even call or visit Miki if you need some kind of travel assistance. I know she is a busy person, so she wouldn't be able to accomodate all your needs (we happend to be there when the lodge wasn't too busy), but I know Miki will be very willing to help you and make your stay as pleasant as possible! AAA+++ rating, must stay accomodation!

Room Tip: My sister is staying on the second floor, and her room is the best! It is nice and cozy, and also br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and it was wonderful! We had the lovely ensure room. The bed was very nice, we had a good sleep. The bedroom and bathroom were very tidy. Miki, the host is a lovely woman and also a wonderful cook, the breakfast was excellent! She made us feel very comfortable and we were feeling like we were at home! Next time we certainly come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.4 mi away
Featherstone B&B
Featherstone B&B
#34 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.6 mi away
319 Addington Motel
319 Addington Motel
#19 of 139 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dyers House
Dyers House
#22 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
5.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 108 Roker Street, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gingerbread Lodge. A Fairytale Bed and Breakfast in Christchurch, New Zealand Gingerbread Lodge is located on a very quiet and beautiful tree-lined street in the Christchurch suburb of Somerfield. Only a short walk away from a shopping mall and public transport, it offers a balance of convenience and peacefulness. Recently this 1920's colonial style house has been architecturally redesigned with a fairytale inspired theme. It is built with beautiful New Zealand Rimu timber and Oamaru stone. Your host Miki warmly welcomes you beautiful Christchurch and will ensure that your stay is comfortable and memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing