We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Merivale Manor(Christchurch)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
35
10
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
10
7
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a very nice place to stay if you don't want to stay in a motel or hotel. Pretty nice rose garden and always clean. We had a very good time in Gingerbread. What's more it close to the Spa pool.

Room Tip: very close the city center and Pioneer spa pool, convenient location.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocosunz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My Mum and I stayed at Gingerbread Lodge for one night at the end of November. The house is beautiful, clean and comfortable....it sure has a fairytale feel to it. We had an ensuite room at the back of the house which we could access either from within the main house or via its own separate outside access, the bed was super comfy and the shower had very good pressure and there was a heatpump in the room too. The owner Miki is absolutely lovely, so accommodating and friendly and her cooked breakfast was delicious ( and lots of options to select from). Will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this B&B if you'll looking for a home away from home and really good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosemarieHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at Gingerbread Lodge for one night at short notice. Miki was so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble & great conversations. We really enjoyed our stay in the King Room. A gorgeous B & B that we thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at the Gingerbread Lodge for a night in November '13. It is the most beautiful little B&B, with a very homey and comfy feel to it, with wooden windows and the most comfortable beds it is by far the nicest place I've stayed in a long time. It has a very european feel to it, Miki the owner is the most lovely host, the breakfast with fresh fruits from New Zealand was excellent. The rooms are ensuite with modern, very luxurious bathrooms and just a delight to stay in. For anyone from europe looking for something very nice, homey, safe and friendly it is the perfect place to stay. You might just not want to go anywhere else anymore:) I will recommend it highly to a friend who runs a german travel website.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at the gingerbread lodge for several weeks while looking for a permanent place to live when I first moved over from the UK. Miki (the owner) and her partner (Nathan) were incredibly welcoming, accommodating and supportive while I was trying to get settled and find my way about Christchurch.

The lodge feels more of a home than a B&B, with tastefully decorated rooms, lots of space and clean and well kept en-suites.

As well as a selection of breakfast options in the morning, they were also happy for me to use the cooking facilities in the evening which was a massive help so I didn't have to eat out every night.

Really enjoyed my time here and would recommend it for anyone who is looking for a nice, homely place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 651Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews