We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay! ”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay in this bed and breakfast lodge was perfect! The owner Miki was so nice and the breakfast was delicious! The house itself has a wonderful character. The room and bathroom were so nice! They have a big dog at home, but never saw such a calm dog before so no worries need to have at all! Payment can also be made with credit card which was very convenient! The only thing was that for us it was a little bit too expensive but its definately worth the price. Thanks for the nice stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristineSKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
29
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a girls night away and it was amazing. The rooms were lovely, super clean and really comfortable. Miki, went out of her way to accommodate our every need. I would definitely recommend and would stay here again. A++++

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Miki is a delightful host at this excellent B&B. It is tastefully decorated with comfortable bedrooms and excellent cooked breakfast. Located in a quiet residential road a few minutes drive fom the city which is still sadly devastated after the earthquake, it is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I spend 2 nights in the Gingerbread Lodge and after my long journey I was looking forward to a nice room and nice people. Luckily I found this at the Gingerbread Lodge. The room was very cozy and tidy and the breakfast was delicious and it was plenty. Miki is such a lovely and helpful person, I really enjoyed talking to her and staying at her place. I can only highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferheise1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baar, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and it was just awesome. Miki is a very lovely, open-minded, communicative and caring host and offers a wonderful breakfast according to your wishes. Her dog Ko is so cute and loves to play and be cuddled by the guests. Our "Queen" room was spacious, nicely decorated, very clean and equipped with all you need and a modern en-suite shower/toilet. We loved the La-Z-Boy recliners. The house is located in a lovely area, a 30min walk away from the centre town with bus stops nearby. We would definitely go back if we visited Christchurch again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gubipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We would 100% recommend this beautiful B&B. It's clean, spacious, comfortable and was in a great location. Close to shops and city. Best of all was the outstanding breakfast cooked by the host Miki. We extremely enjoyed our stay.
Thank you Miki.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a very nice place to stay if you don't want to stay in a motel or hotel. Pretty nice rose garden and always clean. We had a very good time in Gingerbread. What's more it close to the Spa pool.

Room Tip: very close the city center and Pioneer spa pool, convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocosunz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 134 in Christchurch
278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,846 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,827 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 108 Roker Street, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gingerbread Lodge. A Fairytale Bed and Breakfast in Christchurch, New Zealand Gingerbread Lodge is located on a very quiet and beautiful tree-lined street in the Christchurch suburb of Somerfield. Only a short walk away from a shopping mall and public transport, it offers a balance of convenience and peacefulness. Recently this 1920's colonial style house has been architecturally redesigned with a fairytale inspired theme. It is built with beautiful New Zealand Rimu timber and Oamaru stone. Your host Miki warmly welcomes you beautiful Christchurch and will ensure that your stay is comfortable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing