We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host, lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 133 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Torquay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely host, lovely place”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Beautiful place to relax and unwind. Our host Miki is very sweet, very helpful and makes awesome breakfast - best eggs Benedict I've had! Very clean, we had the king room with bathroom, heaps of space to chillax, wifi was fast and very useful. Miki offered us heaps of advise on where to go what to see and do around Christchurch. Would happily stay again.

Room Tip: King room with bathroom had its own huge balcony to sit outside and enjoy a drink, also more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tehiphenana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
29
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent our first night in NZ here and were very pleased. There was confusion about the address--on my confirmation email, it specifically directed me to what is apparently the OLD address, and there was much confusion when the cab dropped us off. A very kind (different) B&B staffer helped us phone Miki and she came and picked us up--it wasn't far, as it turned out :)

The house itself is lovely, and we had the king room on the top floor. In some ways a strange layout, but a gorgeous (big!) room and very clean. The tall window next to the bed was gloriously full of foliage. My only critique is really that it didn't feel private (hence 4/5); there was no covering for that window, which overlooked the back yard, and there was a second big window sort of overlooking the kitchen/conservatory area downstairs. There was a curtain for that but it wasn't at all sound-insulated.

Miki cooked us up a delicious big breakfast and was delightful to chat with in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jennetj623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I spent a night here in March and absolutely loved it!

Miki, the proprietor, was nice, accommodating, and incredibly helpful. The beautiful Lodge was spacious, clean, and well kept. I would definitely stay there again if I'm ever in Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSher20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed one night here at the Gingerbread Lodge in King Room 2. The king size bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The breakfast and wifi access were both good. However, the King Room 2 is located on the ground floor in the back of the house. Just outside the sliding glass door which is your private entrance without going through the house, are the windows for the kitchen. Depending upon how light a sleeper you are, you may be woken up when breakfast preparation is begun. In our case one of the guests had requested an early start at 6:30AM. So we would have been better off choosing a room on the second floor.

Room Tip: King room 2 can be noisy in the morning as it is near the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Miki is a adorably sweet host! It is a beautiful older Victorian home with lots of stained glass, and a charming feel. Our room was upstairs with a little balcony and was HUGE! Super comfortable bed, and yummy breakfast. Pretty central location, in a quiet neighborhood. When our bread for PBJ had mold, Mike offered her loaf to us! Her dog Ko was a source of great entertainment for my husband. What a loveable pooch! Minor downside was that we could hear the other guests downstairs in the bathroom, so when they were up in the morning—we were up too! Also, oddly no electric outlet in the bathroom. We would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a two night stay. A quiet neighborhood. Our host cooked a delightful breakfast. For lunch or dinner, restaurant choices are within an easy walk. Our host also commented on things to see while visiting the area as well as provided us with tidbits of information to help us navigate around Christchurch. Some streets are still being repaired and some streets are one-way. Towel racks and places to hang clothes are needed in the bed and bathrooms.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay in this bed and breakfast lodge was perfect! The owner Miki was so nice and the breakfast was delicious! The house itself has a wonderful character. The room and bathroom were so nice! They have a big dog at home, but never saw such a calm dog before so no worries need to have at all! Payment can also be made with credit card which was very convenient! The only thing was that for us it was a little bit too expensive but its definately worth the price. Thanks for the nice stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristineSKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,789 reviews
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 108 Roker Street, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gingerbread Lodge. A Fairytale Bed and Breakfast in Christchurch, New Zealand Gingerbread Lodge is located on a very quiet and beautiful tree-lined street in the Christchurch suburb of Somerfield. Only a short walk away from a shopping mall and public transport, it offers a balance of convenience and peacefulness. Recently this 1920's colonial style house has been architecturally redesigned with a fairytale inspired theme. It is built with beautiful New Zealand Rimu timber and Oamaru stone. Your host Miki warmly welcomes you beautiful Christchurch and will ensure that your stay is comfortable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Gingerbread Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing