We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude!”

Madam Kwong's Restaurant
Ranked #535 of 976 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lady very rude at the counter couldn't fit a party of 7 in, a lot of empty tables! The lady should not be in customer service! We will never come back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    66
    26
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good place for 'Yum Char'”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

5 of us came here for brunch at about 11.30am on a Saturday. This place is popular and there is a queue for tables. Although we booked a week ago, there seems to be a mix up with our booking. We had to share a table with another family which was rather awkward with a central rotating table. It might be better to book perhaps a day or two before the due date rather than a week.

What we had was good but it cannot be compared to Regal in Wellington. It does not have the variety and flavour range. The pastry items in their cabinet has to be ordered well before 1.00pm because they were really popular and had ran out by that time.

The decor in the restaurant is really nice with diamanté like lights in circular rings. There is an upstairs section which did not seem popular. I suppose there is a concern that the food trolleys that goes round, will not go upstairs.

As far as I know, it is the only yum char in Christchurch that has food circulating the restaurant on trolleys.

The cost was reasonable. We paid $80 for 5 of us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 20Carol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a lovely meal here tonight - found the meals very tasty and value for money. Would definately return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looks good but needs some love”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My friend and I had decided to go to the much lauded Madam Kwong after having tried other chinese places in chch that we loved. We arrived on time, but had to wait 15 minutes for a seat. this would have been okay, but we had to sit by the door that opened and let in a freezing chch southerly anytime people came in or went out for a ciggy.
We ordered the prawn and cheese balls (okay, but we needed a sauce with them) gyoza or pork and chive dumplings (that arrived luke warm were chewy and burnt like they had reheated from yum cha). We also ordered candy floss tofu, stuffed with pork mince (best dish of the night) crispy pork spare ribs (meh - okay but nothing to write home about) and the 1/2 sweet chilli fish (completely murdered and candied through overcooking - I have no idea what sort of fish it was and the sauce was sickening and overly sweet and vinegary, destroying any residual flavour from the over cooking!) The service was really average too - with lots of girls cleaning tables and not being attentive to those eating. The place looks like a big poop ...lots of brown everywhere and the uniforms of staff were similarly awful.

I was really sorry for my friend who said that lots of people like it, as a result she is cooking me dinner tomorrow night - MK was $84 for yuk!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kym007intheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This restaurant is hidden behind caltex and java home furniture along Blenheim Road. Big dinning area with upstairs dinning. Have massive flat screen TV and classy chandelier. Love the food, very tasty, delicious, reasonable price. Offer daily yum cha service at lunch time. The only problem is the parking, not a lot and you have to park off street. This place is good for families and groups and special functions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotmamanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madam Kwong's Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Madam Kwong's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing