We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will want to stay.....”
Review of Denton Park Motel

Denton Park Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denton Park Motel
Ranked #92 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Thanks Blair and Shona for another friendly and pleasant stay.... The rooms had just been redecorated and look lovely..... It is so convenient to supermarkets, food places and shopping malls...

Blair and Shona go out of their way to maintain a friendly & welcoming environment and are genuinely happy to see return stayers.... The rooms are kept clean to a very high standard and have a hotplate and fridge, tea and coffee facilities, free wifi and a king size comfortable bed......

I would definitely stay again and have no hesitation in recommending the Denton Park at all....

You wont have a bad experience here - that is a True story :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DentonParkMotel, Owner at Denton Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks. Your positive comments are appreciated and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Nothing was too much trouble and the people were lovely and friendly. At last moment we needed to go from a studio unit to a 1 bedroom with an extra bed in the lounge and nothing was a problem. It was clean and comfortable. The only (small) thing was the heater was on a timer and it was a cold night and didn't always notice when it turned itself off. I enjoyed the electric blanket on the bed thou' and the heated towel rail. Also it was free wifi, what a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This motel is definitely run by the owners and this shows in all aspects of the business they run, i.e. from the friendly voice on the phone along with the friendly welcome at reception, the cleanliness of the units, plus going the extra mile to accommodate the needs of guests. Our stay was a particularly cold night and the heater had been put on in the unit prior to our arrival, which was very much appreciated, however we felt the heater struggled to heat our unit adequately, ... apart from this we were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie18181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We didn't plan to stay at this hotel but we drove past and it looked nice so we booked in for the night. We arrived later in the afternoon and were greeted by a male (I assume the owner). He was very helpful and welcoming. The motel location is great, close to several food and shopping outlets. I didn't even notice the road noise considering how close the motel is to the road. Easy parking and some complimentary internet were all nice features. The room we stayed in was spacious, which made the room more comfortable.

There were a couple of things I didn't like. The first was the fact the heating turned off after 60 minutes. I'm all for saving energy but it was winter and I kept waking up through the night freezing and having to turn back on the heating for another hour and so on. I also found the bed hard and woke up with a sore back (but perhaps that is just personal preference).

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiegal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Blair and Shona made my stay at the Denton Park a really great experience. The room was so clean and Tidy and lovely decor... Very quiet even tho is on a main road. They printed out directions to a restaurant and placed them in my room for me. It is within walking distance of the HUB mall and Dress Mart and Supermarkets. I would have no hesitations in recommending the Denton Parka and if / when I travel to Christ Church again this is top of my wish list.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Denton Park is the first motel as you come into Christchurch and I had seen a photo on the internet - so was easy to find - though the trees obstruct he signage a bit. WE were booked in a Studio King-upstaris on the main road We are rural and not used to raod noise but didnt find it to be a problem - they had hush glass and as long as you didnt have a window open- most noise was kept out. The unit was very clean, small corner shower and comfy King bed. Location was a big plus for us. We walked to the supermarket for food supplies ( a few minutes) and it was easy to get to / from our chosen distinations as they were on the south side of Christchurch. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very friendly staff, great location and very clean rooms. Easy to find with good links to all the main roads in Christchurch. Good parking too, great place if you have business in the Hornby part of Christchurch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martindbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.1 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#21 of 146 in Christchurch
244 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
5.8 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#134 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denton Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denton Park Motel

Address: 446-448 Main South Road | Hornby, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £103 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing