We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cashel Mall”
Review of Cashel Street

Cashel Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.05*
and up
Christchurch Hop-On Hop-Off Tram
Ranked #22 of 239 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cashel Mall”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

What a credit to the city - container shopping so very well done, cafes all over and a fantastic atmosphere resurrected from the carnage of the earthquakes. Well done Christchurch

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Waryonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    190
    38
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting design... and Pizza.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Unique shopping area that embodies the new start-up the area needs. Modern and stylish, we spent more time than we thought we would initially. If nothing else, go have a wood-fired pizza, that was worth the visit alone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaqs-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moriusaq, Nordgronland, Greenland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A funky( barely beating) heart of the city. This mall is a tangible step toward the vitalisation of the earthquake.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

....ravaged inner city. I love the ambience created by the colourful container project, and hope the city planners have the wisdom to build on that innovation

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small But Unique”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a great place, but there insist really a lot there. I was there about 40 minutes before I ran out of things to look at. But definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Unique Shopping Experience”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Restart Mall along Cashel Street is definitely a unique shopping experience. Where else can you find a shopping area composed of merely containers- banks, restaurants, cafe's, souvenir shops, apparel stores. And they sell good quality food and clothes, at a clean and wholesome place, with manicured pocket gardens, etc. And the prices are very reasonable.
Make it a part of your walk of the city of Christchurch, from the Botanical Garden, to the Museums, to the damaged Cathedral, Arc of Remembrance (with bridge), etc. Its part of the city experience. We came as tourists and we were glad we shopped and ate here.
Bravo for the Kiwi innovativeness !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cashel Street also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cashel Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing