We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walk with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Travis Wetland

Travis Wetland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great walk with kids”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We took our kids and their cousins along the wetlands walkway and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The track is wide enough for the kids to run ahead, but if you take your time there's lots to see, including Pukekos and eels.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Falkirkbairn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walking Track”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We use this circular track nearly every week for a walk through the wetlands. There are people who look after the wetlands with planting and weeding. The bird life is varied and native planting increases every year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EAMAR416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A little underwhelming..”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

After reading about the Travis Wetland walks my husband and I set out for an afternoon. After finding the carpark and the sign we were a little disappointed to discover that there were earthquake works being undertaken on the walkway. Nevertheless we decided to set off on the open part of the trail. To be honest the trail through a bit of farm and wetland was quite dull and even when we got to the 'lookouts' there was very little to look at, We have since read about it in the Top 100 walks to do in NZ - which says that the walk has improved significantly since the earthquakes... we would beg to differ. However if in the mood for a light stroll it is probably worthwhile.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JandAKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great foresight”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

If it wasnt for the the passion and drive of one woman,AnneFlanagan , we would not have had this beautiful natural area in the middle of our city.It is an ever evolving project and the people who are carrying on her dream are to be commended .

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil peace of paradise”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Bird lovers will love this place. The wetlands are full of birds I don't know, there is an information hut where is all explaned. Flat walking with the odd raise is easy for most people. Wheelchair friendly, but would still take someone to assist in the odd place.

Helpful?
Thank Leita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Travis Wetland also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Travis Wetland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing