We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Stay In chch”
Review of Kiwi House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwi House
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Long Stay In chch”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

It was a good place, I had a single room for about a month or so and it was nice a cozy. It had every thing you wanted in it and the staff were fun to talk to, and every one got a long well :) there were other long term stayers, so I often went drinking or shopping with them. So in general It is a place to stay in Chch, So I will probably return in some time for my next trip in the south :D

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suguru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
10
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I stayed mixed dorm. It was comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Kitchen has personal food locker. they lent many books and DVD. Pick up and drop off service was really good. and I made a lot of friends here. I recommend kiwi house!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed in a single room for a week while I was travelling in the south island. The room was not large but it was big enough and had everything I needed for my short stay (single bed, drawers and small desk & chair). Kitchen was spacious, clean and tidy. It was a perfect place to share my trip experiences and exchange information with other customers. Staff were friendly and helpful. I recommend this hostel if you go to Christchurch:)

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Very Unfriendly. Bad roams and dog is running around. that was My worst hostel iv ever been in new zealand. dont go here !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Of all the hostels I've stayed in nz, this would be my least favorite. The room is super tiny (we stayed at a 6 bedded mixed dorm) paid nz24 but the room is so small we can barely walk. Altho there were cabinets in the room but it made the room even smaller cos it took out almost 1/3 of the room. And it doesn't make sense cos the compartment is too small for our luggage :( the kitchen was too crowded as well :( altho the appliances were good but dirty. (there are cleaner cleaning up the kitchen every night tho) the shower room is small as well :( Location wise Itz pretty out of no where. Far from cbd/eateries/museum. However Christchurch is quite damaged now nothing much to see (restart mall is quite a worth visit tho but far from kiwi house)
However the service wise is good. Naked bus broke down and we were stranded somewhere for 3 hours. As the check in time for kiwi house was strictly before 7pm we called kiwi house and they actually came to pick us up at around 830pm at naked bus drop off point! Really appreciated that!
Due to the earthquake a lot of hostels were damaged :( not much choice tho. But YMCA would be quite a good option for a better location n value

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiwayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Kiwi house sleeping facilities are on par with other hostels. Lounge needs some couches and the kitchen is not bad but the dining room require some additional tables and chairs. Due to the earthquake the hostel has a lot of long-term residents. Which makes for some festive weekends. Very strict management. For long term stays not a bad option but short term stays there are better options.

Room Tip: Single rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11freddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2011

i stayed there with my partner and we were planning to stay for a month or 2 but the owner wasn't nice to us at all.
the duvet was too heavy, no couches to chill, kitchen was clean but there were only small tables and few chairs to eat. the facility was set up pretty bad and hard to find out where everything was. it was really uncomfy and we left after only a night.
it was definitely the WORST hostel i've ever stayed in 3 years of travelling.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala9978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 105 in Christchurch
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 105 in Christchurch
227 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 105 in Christchurch
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#6 of 105 in Christchurch
195 reviews
2.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 105 in Christchurch
189 reviews
1.3 mi away
KIWI basecamp
KIWI basecamp
#18 of 105 in Christchurch
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi House

Property: Kiwi House
Address: 373 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kiwi House 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide unique accommodation for travelers in New Zealand.You can stay for one night, a few weeks or even a few months. Our rates are more like those when flatting (weekly rates are available). If you are new to Christchurch/looking for a job in Christchurch/studying in Christchurch, then Kiwi House will be an ideal place to stay. Easy to move in, easy to move out ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kiwi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing