We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gothic Heights Motel
Ranked #101 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Motel units are single level, angled & offset giving privacy from one unit to another, with onsite parking at the door. The unit was quiet despite being near a busy road. We were quite impressed with the unit layout. The kitchen is separated from the sleeping area, which is much better for cooking a meal without cooking smells drifting to sleeping area. Decor a bit dated but clean, and the bed comfortable. Also location makes for a pleasant walking distance to town, and of course Hagley Park is just across the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Gothic Heights has seen better days. The rooms are old and tired, but they are spacious and the beds are firm and comfortable, and the rooms spotlessly clean. It is single-story, safer than multi-story for those that are still concerned about the effects of earthquakes.

The motel is centrally located across the road from Hagley Park sandwiched between two busy roads. However traffic noise is minimal with the windows closed, or even with the bathroom window open - the bathroom is accessed through the kitchen and is far enough from the bedroom that the noise does not penetrate. It's very close to the railway station and the large central hospital.

Some internal renovation would do wonders to this motel, but if you ignore the fake wood panelling its a good value place to stay and sleep close to central CHCH. Anyway, you're there to sleep, not to admire the decor.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Excellent motel style accommodation. Good Value. Centrally located and opposite pretty park.

Don't expect luxury but very comfortable and more than suitable for tourists and travellers through the area.

Friendly service and helpful advice. Wifi available for a fee.

Comfortable beds. Quiet. Hot powerful showers. Kitchennette area suitable for making light meals. Free car parking at front of units.

Fairly spacious rooms. A little dated (normal for NZ!) but not problematic.

Recommended for a good nights rest. Some road noise but this was not bothersome and I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesRushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West .Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

With accute shortage of accomodation in Christchurch after earthquake, we were lucky to obtain any vacancy so no great expectations on arrival. However, were immediately impressed with efficient & friendly reception. Studio was roomy , kitch

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this lovely little motel for 3 nights spread across 2 weeks early this year. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The management were extremely helpful. They even stored some of our luggage for us while we were travelling around South Island in a campervan! Can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingskv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, QLD
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We had a cosy clean room with a simple bathroom that was all we needed to crash at night. The staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre and was not hard to find from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort collins, Colorado, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We only stayed in Christchurch for one night, but we were very impressed by this hotel. It was a good price, and the room was very clean. What was most impressive was the customer service -- the front desk staff was VERY nice and even drove us to the train station the next morning. The hotel is located within walking distance of down town, and we enjoyed walking around the botanical gardens (also within walking distance). I'd definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 145 in Christchurch
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arena Motel
Arena Motel
#35 of 145 in Christchurch
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#124 of 145 in Christchurch
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#22 of 145 in Christchurch
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Addington City Motel
Addington City Motel
#48 of 145 in Christchurch
67 reviews
4.2 mi away
Northcote Motor Lodge
Northcote Motor Lodge
#61 of 145 in Christchurch
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothic Heights Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothic Heights Motel

Property: Gothic Heights Motel
Address: 430 Hagley Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gothic Heights Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothic Heights Motel is less than 10 minutes walk to Christchurch Public and Womens Hospitals. Adjacent to Hagley Park and within walking distance of the town centre, we offer comfortable, modern studio and one bedroom units. Self contained and serviced daily with cooked and continental breakfasts available. All units have hush glass to minimise outside noise for your comfort.Qualmark rating three star + and the only Christchurch motel to receive the Enviro-Silver ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gothic Heights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing