We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quality Rooms - Shame About the Privacy”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #3 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Quality Rooms - Shame About the Privacy”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed one night at at Merivale Manor before catching a flight out.

The rooms are great quality, large and bright and well equipped. The staff were very helpful and friendly and a great source of local information. In addition to the milk left in the fridge for our arrival there was also bread, cereals and marmalade etc to prepare yourself a breakfast - a very pleasant addition.

The hotel is in handy area with restaurants within walking distance and shops too.

The only reason we didn't give this hotel an 'excellent' rating is the privacy. The room has big windows which anyone walking/driving towards reception can see straight through and into the rooms. There are curtains however they would benefit from blinds or net curtains to provide privacy without blocking out all the light.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    133
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
145
326
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, people mentioned how quiet Christchurch was going to be and why were we staying 2 nights? My feeling was and is that the people of Christchurch are trying to re build their business and deserve to be helped. I was glad we did stay 2 nights, we went into the town and yes a lot of the streets are closed due to unsafe buildings. Some of the shops and restaurants are the same as when the quake hit. However we were very impressed with the temporary units being used to keep the shops trading and even a temporary bank!
We arrived in the early hours of the morning so Mike had left basic provisions which was a nice touch. Support the people of Christchurch.

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda_hagwortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We used this for 2 days to acclimatise after the flight from the UK. Excellent central Christchurch locationm friendly owners, great facilities and spotlessly clean.

Easy walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants and Hagley Park.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I really wish I could give Merivale Manor 10 stars!!! Mike the owner went above and beyond in every way possible to make sure we were comfortable while we were staying in Christchurch. When we arrived my uncle had wanted soda water and ice, Mike brought some from his own home for us. My aunt wanted to do laundry and she was told to leave the clothes in the dryer while we were out, and when she came back they were folded neatly in her room. We ordered take away one evening and he offered to go pick it up!

My husband, parents, and brother stayed in the two bedroom enormous manor. It was almost like having our very own luxury home to stay in, with a huge sitting area. The manor is located near quite a few wonderful restaurants and cafes, all within walking distance.

We had a wonderful time and would recommend the Merivale Manor to everyone traveling to Christchurch.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJ0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Though we only stayed for 1 night I found this accommodation very nice. The owners were very nice and were very helpful. I had originally booked two nights, however due to Christchurch being pretty much 'closed down' due to the earthquakes I cancelled our second night and drove to Queenstown a day early, and the owners had no problem cancelling our booking. The rooms had everything we needed and the spa was very relaxing. The location is also great, about five min drive into the city and lots of restaurants close by.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I chose a room in the Colonial Home, rather than a unit, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The service was great from our hostess Bev, who also arranged for another night at the end of our stay. Will definitely choose to stay there again when we return

Room Tip: Lovely quiet rooms in the Colonial Home, excellent modern showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The Merivale manor was about the only motel where the owners, (Mike and Sam) would tell you to help yourself with milk and bread from the office whenever you run out. Laundry facilities are available complimentary. We had stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms, like the bathrooms are large,spacious and modern. It definitely felt modern and as the other traveller has pointed out was furnished with quality products. The Spa bath (Jacuzzi) was great. My only qualm was with the shower which for whatever reason started acting up on the second day. It would be hot one minute and cold the next without adjustments.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the road as they will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,846 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 145 in Christchurch
621 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 145 in Christchurch
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing