We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little motel on the outskirts of Christchurch”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #2 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised when we got to this motel. It was really clean and the rooms were stocked and modern. Great kitchen, huge bathroom and free wifi!!!

The staff was great. So friendly and helpful. Being a small motel though no one is on staff after I believe it was 7pm which was tough for a pair of night owls. Still there were a couple of great places to shop and eat nearby. City center was within walking distance. Unfortunately when we went, Christchurch was still kind of a ghost town. Not much to do because the earthquake the year before decimated the city. Still a lot of rebuilding needed. The Merivale area is lovely though.

The only issue I had was the bed in the room. Whoever stayed there before had some bad BO and it lingered. That was the only issue with our stay. Febreeze is all that wouldve been needed to fix that situation. No big deal. Everything else was top notch.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njrudegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great staff, really friendly. They were helpful to book us tours. Quite close to city center. Extra points for free DVD borrowing.

Only trouble here we had was that Christchurch hasn't really come back from the earthquakes. I hope that will change in the very near future. All the best.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank negotiator83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Merivale motel was clean, well appointed, well positioned and the welcome was warm! Just what you need after a long haul flight! We needed a couple of days to recoup before collecting our camper van and starting our tour - this was just what we needed. We enjoyed the local restaurants and the 25 minute walk into Christchurch. It was great being able to self cater as our sleeping patterns were all over the place!! The shuttlebus from the airport dropped us right outside our door for a very reasonable price. A relly good start to a wonderful holiday1

Room Tip: Our room was right by the road and wondered if the traffic would bother us - it didn't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peekies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Hotel is situated at the nice area. Supermarket, small shopping centre and nice restaurants nearby. Easy, about 20 min, walk to the city centre. We stayed 2 nights in the main house. Room was cosy, spacious, with minikitchenette and good facilities. Owners were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammA-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We arrived after a long 24hrs of travel from the states…it took a little while for the 6 of us to check it, as there was only one woman working the desk and she was handling a customer on the phone, but once she helped us, we were checked it with tomorrow's breakfast in hand and settling into our rooms.

We stayed in the main house, which was superb. There is no elevator, so expect to lug your luggage up the stairs. Although cute and quaint on the outside, the rooms are updated and modern, with nice bathrooms and kitchenettes for cooking.

Breakfast consists of milk, cereal, bread, and condiments (butter, jam, etc). It was plenty to eat for us!

I recommend staying in the main house if possible. The rooms down near the road have one large window that faces the entry and parking area which don't offer much privacy unless you keep your blinds drawn. Otherwise, everyone can see you laying in bed!

I would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This hotel is a superb historic mansion/villa in a great area of Christchurch. Providing you stay in the main house and not the prefabricated motel style rooms, the rooms are big with a seperate living area that has a kitchenette with hobs for cooking.

The bedrooms are really nice and the bed was very comfortable. And the bathroooms are very luxurious.

It loses one star because there is no breakfast or breakfast option and it's pretty expensive. I'm probably being harsh there though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This was our first night in New Zealand and we were impressed! The service was outstanding! The owner offered us a small breakfast (they even had glutenfree bread and lactose free milk!), without any charges. Our room was small (there are bigger ones as well) but very cosy. Everything was very clean and very nice! Free DVDs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,951 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.3 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £95 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing