We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff! one issue”
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merivale Manor
Ranked #2 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great staff! one issue”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The staff were amazing, the building is beautiful. I loved the spa bath in the room! and the location is good. rooms were clean and staff were so accommodating. However, despite being double glazed, I had big troubles sleeping because it is on a main road and we were in the very end room, closest to the road. it was VERY loud with cars never ceasing.

Room Tip: try to stay in the rooms closest to the manor house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Merivale Manor, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your comments, the Front Spa Studios are the 2 studios closest to the road, we do understand they can be a little noisey at times, which is reflected in our pricing structure, these rooms being the least expensive. Not the best room for light sleepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    133
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
144
326
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I enjoyed the Merivale Manor so much that I stayed an extra day at the end of my two-week trip.

I arrived early at the beginning of my trip and my room was ready. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The on-sight owners were there to take care of any travel questions and had suggestions of their own.

This is the best location in Christchurch. You are within walking distance of the City Centre and even closer to the Merivale Mall. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the mall area.

When I return to Christchurch, I will stay at the Merivale Manor.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank struck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed staying at the Manor during our recent two week adventure in New Zealand. We stayed on two separate nights.
The room was large, clean and very appealing. The reception was helpful and cheerful.
Locating is perfect and an easy walk to spots to eat and shop.
We would stay at the Manor again any time

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We very much enjoyed a two night stay here, staying in a Manor Studio Room. They were lovely about our late check in (we were on a 9pm post-work flight from Welly to Christchurch, so arrive after 10). We found the location quite good; an easy walk to "downtown" Christchutch and the Botanic Gardens and a nice little neighborhood in its own right. The room was quite spacious and the kitchen was quite practical. We did have a few minor issues: only one side of the bed had a reading lamp, which meant my husband literally got out his headlamp to read before bed. There was no storage space in the bathroom other than several very narrow shelves, not wide enough to put a toiletry bag. This was a real disappointment because the bathroom was very large, clearly redone fairly recently, and had plenty of room for a nice storage vanity. Bonus points for your choice of bread (white or wheat?)!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisaAAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Christchurch. The motel unit (separate from the old manor) was small but well appointed, modern, clean and there was free WiFi. The do it yourself continental breakast was adequate (cereal, toast and spreads) but a couple more items like juice or yoghurt would have been welcome. The location is excellent being on a bus route to the city centre and it is also only a five minute walk to Merivale mall.

Perhaps the only negative was that the motel is on a pretty busy road and there was some traffic noise at night and early in the morning. But overall this was a good option for Christchurch.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blenheim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The internet is great at offering choices of where to stay. However, read a few reviews of likely watering holes and you'll see that it's also very easy to make a mistake.
Not so here. Merivale Manor is located nicely between the small centre of Merivale (10 mins walk) and about 25 minutes walk away from Christchurch centre.
It turned out to be everything I was hoping for and more. A lovely large room in the main house, with aircon and windows which opened(!), beautifully decorated and fitted out with a small kitchen area for teas, coffees and a light breakfast. I guess that you could even prepare a meal if you were so inclined, or perhaps use the space to serve a takeaway.
The bathroom was nicely proportioned with a double shower for those who like to save water by showering with their partner!
Due to a late change in our plans, the free wifi was most useful in allowing me to do all the admin needed to cancel and rearrange other bookings on our trip. Big hotels please note!
Having Merivale so close at hand, dining was easy too, with a good choice of places to eat. Trendy bars, Indian and Japanese Restaurants and the ubiquitous McDonalds.
All in all, a warm welcome, a lovely property and so impressive that we're going back for more!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back on the first floor. Apart from the neighbours in the adjoining property, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 274couldabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This motel was nicer than a lot of hotels we have stayed in! The building is beautiful and the service is great (free breakfast, free wifi, free dvd's to borrow, plus help with any information you might need). The rooms are spacious and clean, and there is even a kitchenette. We went to Japanese restaurant a few doors down which was lovely!
Despite the terrible weather we had, this place made our stay in Christchurch bearable. Only bad thing I could say is that it is on a main road so a bit loud at night if you are in one of the front rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gal_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,830 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 145 in Christchurch
618 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 145 in Christchurch
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Property: Merivale Manor
Address: 122 Papanui Road | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing