We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merivale Manor
Nearby Hotels
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
547
142
33
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
142
33
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housebreakfast cerealspeacock suitespa studionew zealandmerivale mallbread for toastpapanui roadcity centreold housefree wifibeautiful propertyminute walkaway from the roadnz holidaysouth islandmotel units
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed here 2 nights recently, very neat property with friendly hosts and good wifi. Stayed in one of the front spa units. Hotel is situated on a main road but traffic noise was not an issue for us didnt notice it after peak hour. Good selection of restaurants nearby and only short walking distance. Would stay again.

Room Tip: For value take a spa room, for something special stay in the main house.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We booked the 2-bedroom apartment, and were thrilled to see that we had the bottom floor of the main house, including a spacious living room area with kitchen. The owner was so helpful with dining suggestions, arranging taxi service, and making other suggestoins. We also were able to do a much-needed load of landry (free!). And the WiFi was awesome: this was the only place we stayed in New Zealand where the WiFi was included in our stay, was easy to access, and was uninterrupted. The location is also good for an easy walk to restaurants in the Merivale area, as well as the grocery store; be aware that much of the CBD is vacant from earthquake demolition, so knowing what I know now, I am glad we chose Merivale Manor as our base in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionInFLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel/motel was one of our favorites of the ones we stayed at on an 11 day journey that took us to four cities in New Zealand and Australia. It is very well located, great food within walking distance. The walk to the center of town was very close and the room accomodations were perfectly appointed. The hosts were extremely informative and helped us determine where to visit in the one day and two nights that we had there. Christchurch is a beautiful place and wished we could have had two or three more days. The one thing is that if you want mainstream television programming, it isn't available here. Only the "free" NZ channels and a couple of cable channels. But that isn't the reason you go here so not a big negative. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Centrally located within short drive into Christchurch city. Very friendly staff. Rooms clean and well appointed. Best accommodation so far on 2 week trip. Have re-booked for our final night before flying home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Liked the aspect of a single story building in an earthquake zone!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here 3 separate times during our 11 day trip through the south island. Each of the three times we were in a different room, each room a little different in layout and style, but all very comfortable! All three rooms were nicely sized, with a nice sized kitchenette and modern bathroom. Each kitchen had a microwave, small stove and fridge. The hotel is located just a short 10 minute drive to the unique and fun downtown area that is rebuilding after the earthquakes (definintely worth a stop!) and within a 5 minute walk of shops and restaurants in the Merivale neighborhood.

The proprietors were very helpful and friendly. They assisted us with suggestions on what to see in Christchurch and were we should eat. They helped us with our laundry and filled us in on the history of this unique town. We asked for a lot over our 3 stays, and they were always right there to help!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews